Test recall for Malinga

Fast bowler included in squad to face India

Last Updated: 09/07/10 2:35pm

  • Share:
Malinga: Back in Test squad

Malinga: Back in Test squad

Sky Bet

Sri Lanka paceman Lasith Malinga could make a first Test appearance in over two years after being called up for the series with India.

SKY SPORTS ON SKY From football to fishing and everything in between, including cricket, rugby, golf and tennis - there's some amazing coverage coming up on the five Sky Sports channels. Plus, with the launch of Sky Sports News HD this summer, all five channels will soon be available in stunning high definition, only with Sky. Click here for more

The 26-year-old has been included in a 16-man squad for the three-Test series which starts in Galle on July 18.

Malinga, who last played in a Test in November 2007, has been limited to one-day competition over the last two years due to struggles with injury.

Fellow pace bowler Dilhara Fernando also earns a recall into the Test squad but spinner Ajantha Mendis has been left out by the selectors.


Instead, 32-year-old slow left-arm orthodox Rangana Herath has been included to compliment the retiring Muttiah Muralitharan and off-spinner Suraj Randiv.

Muralitharan will bring the curtain down on his career in the longest form of the game after the contest in Galle and although Mendis has been labelled as his heir apparent, there is no place in the squad for the 25-year-old.

Sri Lanka's set-up boasts seven specialist batsmen, including 20-year-old Lahiru Thirimanne, who will be hoping for a Test debut.

Four seamers are included alongside Muralitharan, Herath and Randiv while all-rounder Angelo Mathews is also expected to be a part of the bowling attack.

The two sides will be competing in their third Test series in three years, with Sri Lanka winning at home in 2008 before India claimed the return series last year.

After the first clash in Galle, the series will move on to Colombo where the second and third Tests will be played.

Sri Lanka squad: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Muttiah Muralitharan, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Tharanga Paranavitana, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Prasanna Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath, Dilhara Fernando, Dammika Prasad, Suraj Randiv, Thilina Kandamby, Chanaka Welegedara, Lahiru Thirimanne.

  • Share: