Quintet stake England claim

Finn, Lumb, Trego, Wainwright & Woakes named in provisional squad

Last Updated: 01/03/10 5:36pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

England have named five uncapped players in their provisional 30-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 - but there is no place for Alastair Cook.

SKY BET ODDS Michael Lumb is evens to make England's final squad of 15 for the World Twenty20, with David Wainwright and Chris Woakes 11/4 outsiders. Click here to bet now.

Steven Finn (Middlesex), Michael Lumb (Hampshire), Peter Trego (Somerset), David Wainwright (Yorkshire) and Chris Woakes (Warwickshire) have all been included initially for the tournament that starts in the Caribbean on April 30.

The squad will be cut to 15 on March 30 - although current 50-overs captain Cook has already been overlooked, with Paul Collingwood set to continue to lead the Twenty20 side.

Strike bowler James Anderson is included despite concerns over his fitness, while Ravi Bopara and Owais Shah will be looking to stake their claims after being recalled to the set-up.


South Africa-born wicketkeeper-batsman Craig Kieswetter has also been included, having made his England debut on the tour to Bangladesh.

National selector Geoff Miller, said: "The upcoming ICC World Twenty20 is an exciting tournament and we have selected an exciting crop of players in this provisional squad.

"All players named have shown their ability in the shortest form of the game and the selectors have some difficult decisions to make when reducing the squad to 15 players.

"We have a number of young players knocking on the door which underlines the depth in talent currently available and I know all concerned will be hoping they make the final squad for what is a highly anticipated tournament."

Asked about Cook's omission, Miller added: "The message is that originally we said we didn't think Alastair was a Twenty20 player - and we still stick by that," he said.

"He has to prove us wrong. He's played very well out here (in Bangladesh) - and if he can carry his career into that area then we'll reassess.

"But at the moment we don't see him as a Twenty20 player, and that's why he's not in."

England: Paul Collingwood (Durham, captain), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Steven Davies (Surrey), Joe Denly (Kent), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Michael Lumb (Hampshire), Sajid Mahmood (Lancashire), Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Graham Onions (Durham), Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire), Liam Plunkett (Durham), Matt Prior (Sussex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Owais Shah (Middlesex), Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Peter Trego (Somerset), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire), David Wainwright (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Luke Wright (Sussex), Michael Yardy (Sussex).

  • Share:


Most Popular


Nev: Chelsea were like champions

Nev: Chelsea were like champions

On The Gary Neville Podcast, the Sky Sports pundit compared Chelsea's side with their 2005 title-winning squad.

Where next for Klopp?

Where next for Klopp?

Jurgen Klopp's exit from Borussia Dortmund has led to speculation surrounding his next club.

Pundits: Jose style unimportant

Pundits: Jose style unimportant

Chelsea's tactics are sometimes not pretty but Jose Mourinho won't care, say the Saturday Night Football pundits.