Duo out for India

Yuvraj, Dravid to miss Test series against South Africa

Last Updated: 28/01/10 1:25pm

  • Share:
Dravid: Injury blow

Dravid: Injury blow

Sky Bet

Rahul Dravid and Yuvraj Singh have both been ruled out of India's Test series with South Africa after picking up injuries during the win in Bangladesh.

LIVE ON SKY SPORTS India v South Africa First Test February 6, 3.55am Sky Sports 3

Former captain Dravid sustained a fractured jaw after scoring a century in the second Test against Bangladesh in Dhaka, while Yuvraj suffered a wrist injury.

The two batsmen will now miss the two-Test series between the two best Test sides in the world according to official rankings, with top-ranked India hosting number two South Africa.

India have now had to name a depleted 15-man squad for the opening Test against the tourists, which starts in Nagpur on February 6.

"Rahul Dravid has been advised rest for three weeks," an Indian cricket board statement said.

"Yuvraj Singh has also been ruled out of the Test series due to an injury to his left wrist."


Dravid was playing beautifully in Dhaka but was forced to retire hurt on 111 when a bouncer from Tigers paceman Shahadat Hossain hit him on the ear guard part of his helmet.

As a result of the double injury blow, India have brought in uncapped batsman Subramaniam Badrinath to replace Dravid in the squad.

Changes also come with two other new faces in fast bowler Abhimanyu Mithun and wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha.

Karnataka bowler Mithun takes the place of Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, who suffered a hamstring injury, while Saha has been included as back-up wicketkeeper.

The last time the teams met India grabbed a 1-1 series draw in South Africa two years ago by winning the final Test, and this time they play host as a troubled Proteas arrive on the back of coach Mickey Arthur leaving along with the entire selection panel being sacked.

The second Test will be played in Kolkata from February 14-18, and will be followed by three one-day internationals on South Africa's month-long tour.

India squad: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Murali Vijay, Sachin Tendulkar, Vangipurappu Laxman, Subramaniam Badrinath, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, Sudeep Tyagi, Pragyan Ojha, Abhimanyu Mithun, Wriddhiman Saha

  • Share: