Rookie Hall in England squad

Smith rings the changes for France Test

Last Updated: 02/06/09 7:55pm

  • Share:
Hall: Showing his strength

Hall: Showing his strength

Sky Bet

Leeds winger Ryan Hall is one of three uncapped players named in Tony Smith's 19-man squad for England's forthcoming game against France.

The 21-year-old has enjoyed an outstanding first half of the season with the Rhinos and is rewarded with a call-up for the match in Paris on Saturday week.

Hall, who is joint top of the Super League scoring chart with 13 tries, is joined by Wigan half-back Sam Tomkins and Huddersfield hooker Scott Moore, who is on a season-long loan from St Helens, who are also in line for debuts.

Moore is joined in the squad by his Giants team-mate Eorl Crabtree, whose nine previous international appearances were for a second-string England side.

The experience will come in the form of skipper Jamie Peacock and fellow front row Adrian Morley, who has been in exceptional form for Warrington in recent weeks, amongst only six survivors from the disastrous World Cup campaign.

Sam Burgess and Sean O'Loughlin return to the international fold after missing the World Cup through injury, but Martin Gleeson, Paul Wellens, Leon Pryce, Rob Burrow, Mark Calderwood, Rob Purdham, Mickey Higham and Jon Wilkin have all been overlooked.

"This is a squad featuring a lot of new and exciting faces as well as seasoned campaigners and gives a good blend of youth and experience," Smith said.

"It's a big team that is full of speed and skill and people who can score tries.

"The players are chosen from a number of Super League clubs. This I believe is a reflection of the form of some of the players and clubs at the moment and also underlines just how competitive Super League is this season.

"This game against France will also be about looking at a number of new faces to see how they perform on the international stage with one eye on this autumn's Four Nations."

England squad:
Ryan Atkins (Wakefield), Sam Burgess (Bradford), Shaun Briscoe (Hull KR), Tony Clubb (Harlequins), Eorl Crabtree (Huddersfield), Peter Fox (Hull KR), James Graham (St Helens), Ryan Hall (Leeds), Gareth Hock (Wigan), Danny McGuire (Leeds), Scott Moore (Huddersfield), Adrian Morley (Warrington), Richard Myler (Salford), Sean O'Loughlin (Wigan), Jamie Peacock (Leeds, captain), James Roby (St Helens), Michael Shenton (Castleford), Sam Tomkins (Wigan), Ben Westwood (Warrington).

  • Share: