KP makes Wisden XI

Pietersen the only England player selected in dream Test team

Last Updated: 08/04/09 1:02pm

  • Share:
Pietersen: Proud man

Pietersen: Proud man

Sky Bet

Former England captain Kevin Pietersen has been named in Wisden's first ever Test match Dream XI.

The Hampshire star, who averages 51.09 with the bat at Test level, is the only England player to make the grade, though, slotting in at number five.

India's Virender Sehwag and South Africa captain Graeme Smith are the openers followed by Australia skipper Ricky Ponting at number three.

India's master batsman Sachin Tendulkar is at number four followed by Pietersen and West Indies lynchpin Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the wicketkeeper, while India off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, Australia left-arm seamer Mitchell Johnson, South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn and India's Zaheer Khan make up the tail.

Sehwag is not only number one by virtue of his position in the batting order but for good measure is identified as the sixth player to be recognised as the Leading Cricketer in the World.

  • Share: