Sri Lanka seize control

Pakistan make disappointing return to Test action after 14 months

Last Updated: 22/02/09 12:03pm

  • Share:
Jayawardene: 25th Test century, first Sri Lankan to 8,000 runs

Jayawardene: 25th Test century, first Sri Lankan to 8,000 runs

Sky Bet

First Test
Sri Lanka 406-3 (D P M D Jayawardene 136 no, T T Samaraweera 130 no, K C Sangakkara 70, B S M Warnapura 59) v Pakistan

Mahela Jayawardene and Thilan Samaraweera compiled unbeaten centuries as Sri Lanka piled up 406-3 on the opening day of the series in Pakistan.

Jayawardene became the first Sri Lankan to pass 8,000 Test runs on his way to reaching the close unbeaten on 136.

He shared an unbroken 229-run stand for the fourth wicket with Samaraweera, who was 130 not out at stumps.

The match was Pakistan's first Test appearance for 14 months following a succession of cancelled tours due to security concerns.

Jayawardene, who has already announced he will stand down as Sri Lanka captain at the end of the two-Test series, won the toss and opted to make first use of a dry pitch at Karachi's National Stadium.

Debut duck

Pakistan started well - Umar Gul removed Sri Lanka's debutant opener Tharanga Paranavitana, caught at slip, for a golden duck with the fourth ball of the innings.

Malinda Warnapura and Kumar Sangakkara added 90 before Warnapura (59) edged seamer Yasir Arafat (1-57) to give Misbah his second catch in the slips.

But experienced duo Sangakkara and Jayawardene put on 84 either side of lunch as the home attack began to suffer in stifling heat, not helped by some shoddy fielding.

Jayawardene was dropped on 17 and 43 - Gul failed to cling to a difficult return catch and Misbah grassed a routine chance at second slip to leave debutant seamer Sohail Khan (0-105) distraught.

The third-wicket alliance had reached 84 when Sangakkara (70) became the only wicket to fall in the middle session, caught by Misbah at short midwicket off leg-spinner Danish Kaneria (1-93).

Runs flow

Having reached tea on 248-3, Jayawardene and Samaraweera flayed a further 158 runs during the final session.

Jayawardene completed his 25th Test century before being dropped for the third time on 123, this time Shoaib Malik was the culprit.

Samaraweera also reached three figures - for the eighth time in Tests - as the fourth-wicket pair extended their stand beyond 200 by the close.

It was a tough baptism for Pakistan's new captain Younus Khan, who led out a line-up containing two debutants - paceman Sohail and opening batsman Khurram Manzoor.

  • Share: