Trio up for Test award

England stars in contention for Test Player of the Year

By Phil Jackson.   Last Updated: 28/08/07 3:17pm

  • Share:
Panesar: Test Player of the Year?

Panesar: Test Player of the Year?

Sky Bet

England stars Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen and Ryan Sidebottom are battling it out for the title of Test match player of the year.

"There is so much great cricket to reflect upon during the voting period from August 2006 to August 2007."
ICC chief executive officer Malcolm Speed Quotes of the week

The trio have been nominated in the International Cricket Council (ICC) awards set to be handed out in South Africa on September 10.

Last year's winner Ricky Ponting is in the running for four individual prizes, a feat matched by his Sri Lankan counterpart Mahela Jayawardene.

West Indies batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Australia trio Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey and Glenn McGrath, Sri Lanka spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, South Africa's Shaun Pollock, Pakistan's Mohammad Yousuf and Pietersen have all been put forward for three individual honours.


ICC chief executive officer Malcolm Speed said: "There is so much great cricket to reflect upon during the voting period from August 2006 to August 2007.

"There was an enthralling and very competitive ICC Champions Trophy in India which ended with Australia securing that title for the first time, as well as an ICC Cricket World Cup that saw Ricky Ponting's side lift the trophy for an unprecedented third time.

"There were runs galore from the likes of Ricky Ponting, Matthew Hayden, Kevin Pietersen, Kumar Sangakkara and Mohammad Yousuf, and outstanding bowling displays by established champions such as Glenn McGrath, Muttiah Muralitharan and Shane Warne and newcomers like Shaun Tait and Monty Panesar."

Emerging lights

He added: "We had a record-breaking Ashes series, Test wins for India in South Africa and England, and Australia losing its place - albeit briefly - at the top of the ICC ODI Championship table when Graeme Smith's side reached the summit in March.

"And as well as the promise shown by Bangladesh in beating both India and South Africa during the ICC Cricket World Cup, we also had a twelfth side joining that ICC ODI table when Ireland tied with Zimbabwe and beat both Pakistan and Bangladesh."

England all-rounder Ravi Bopara and bowler Chris Tremlett face tough competition in the emerging player of the year category, most notably from Australian pacemen Shaun Tait and Mitchell Johnson and New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor.

Twenty eight former greats of the game are amongst the 56-person panel to vote on the eventual winners, while five ICC selectors, led by former India skipper Sunil Gavaskar will also choose the Test and One-Day International (ODI) teams of the year.

Test Player: Mohammad Asif (Pak), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Stuart Clark (Aus), Matthew Hayden (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), Zaheer Khan (Ind), Anil Kumble (Ind), Brian Lara (WI), Glenn McGrath (Aus), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL), Makhaya Ntini (SA), Monty Panesar (Eng), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Shaun Pollock (SA), Ricky Ponting (Aus), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Ryan Sidebottom (Eng), Shane Warne (Aus), Mohammad Yousuf (Pak)

ODI Player: Shane Bond (NZ), Mark Boucher (SA), Nathan Bracken (Aus), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Stuart Clark (Aus), Michael Clarke (Aus), Matthew Hayden (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus), Mahela Jayawardena (SL), Jacques Kallis (SA), Brett Lee (Aus), Glenn McGrath (Aus), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL), Jacob Oram (NZ), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Shaun Pollock (SA), Ricky Ponting (Aus), Yuvraj Singh (Ind), Mohammed Yousuf (Pak)

Emerging Player: Ravi Bopara (Eng), Shakib Al Hasan (Bang), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Mushfiqur Rahim (Bang), Shaun Tait (Aus), Ross Taylor (NZ), Chris Tremlett (Eng)

Cricketer of the Year: Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Matthew Hayden (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), Jacques Kallis (SA), Glenn McGrath (Aus), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Ricky Ponting (Aus), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Mohammed Yousuf (Pak), Shaun Pollock (SA)

Captain of the Year: Mahela Jayawardene (SL), Ricky Ponting (Aus)

Associate ODI Player of the Year: Ashish Bagai (Can), Andre Botha (Ire), John Davison (Can), Trent Johnston (Ire), Dwayne Leverock (Ber), Kyle McCallan (Ire), Tanmay Mishra (Ken), Eoin Morgan (Ire), Ashif Mulla (Can), Niall O'Brien (Ire), Thomas Odoyo (Ken), Peter Ongondo (Ken), Irving Romaine (Ber), Abdool Samad (Can), Ryan Ten Doeschate (Neth), Steve Tikolo (Ken), Hiren Varaiya (Ken), Ryan Watson (Sco)

Umpire of the Year: Mark Benson, Steve Bucknor, Daryl Harper, Simon Taufel

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Caitriona Beggs (Ire), Holly Colvin (Eng), Rumeli Dhar (Ind), Maria Fahey (NZ), Jhulan Goswami (Ind), Ashlyn Kilowan (SA), Johmari Logtenberg (SA), Urooj Mumtaz Khan (Pak), Shelley Nitschke (Aus), Rebecca Rolls (NZ), Sajida Shah (Pak), Lisa Sthalekar (Aus), Claire Taylor (Eng)

Post Comment

*All fields required, your email address will be kept private


Most Popular


Missing Money again

Missing Money again

Paulie Malignaggi told Ringside he fears Amir Khan will again miss out on a Floyd Mayweather fight.

Stealing the show?

Stealing the show?

The Panel tell us which of the undercard fighters could steal the limelight from Cleverly-Bellew II…

Inside the Huddle

Inside the Huddle

Listen to Neil Reynolds and Jeff Reinebold's latest NFL podcast as they look ahead to Week 12 of the season