Dixon wins again at Mid-Ohio

New Zealander overhauls Power to take fourth win at circuit

Last Updated: 05/08/12 11:15pm

  • Share:
Scott Dixon: Won at Mid-Ohio for the fourth time

Scott Dixon: Won at Mid-Ohio for the fourth time

Sky Bet

Scott Dixon overtook Will Power in the final round of pit-stops to claim his fourth IndyCar Series victory at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

The 32-year-old Kiwi, who also won at the circuit in 2011, 2009 and 2007, recorded his second race win of the season after finishing over three seconds clear of Power.

Penske driver Power could take solace in the fact that his result puts him back on top of the championship standings.

Ganassi driver Dixon beat Power out of the pits after both drivers had dived in for their final stops with 28 laps to go.

Power started from the pole and led the first 56 laps but could not finish the job and had to settle for second, with Simon Pagenaud in third and Sebastien Bourdais and James Hinchcliffe completing the top five.

All 85 laps of the 2.258-mile were completed without a full-course caution, making it the second straight IndyCar race that did not include any caution periods.

  • Share: