10 - 13 April

Tiger Woods did not consider pulling out of the Masters after avoiding disqualification

Last Updated: 10/06/13 9:58am

  • Share:

Tiger Woods insisted he did not consider pulling out of the Masters amid the controversy surrounding his two-shot penalty for a rules infringement in the second round.

The world No 1 faced disqualification for taking an illegal drop after finding water at the 15th on Friday, but he was unaware of any wrongdoing when he signed for a one-under 71.

"I got a text from my agent this morning saying 'Call me,'. It's never a good thing when that happens."
Tiger Woods

He was summoned by tournament officials on Saturday morning, and it was decided a two-stroke penalty was sufficient punishment under a recently revised rule concerning "trial by TV".

Sir Nick Faldo was one of many high-profile figures calling for Woods to withdraw, but the four-time champion put the distractions to one side and fired a third-round 70 which left him four off the lead.

"I got a text from my agent this morning saying 'Call me,'. It's never a good thing when that happens," said Woods. "They called me in, I got a two-shot penalty, time to play. I made a mistake, I took an improper drop and I got the penalty."

Asked if he thought of withdrawing, Woods added: "No. Under the rules of golf I am abiding by the rules. They made the determination that nothing had happened on Friday and after what I said, things changed."

That was a reference to his comment that he had gone "two yards further back" from where he hit his original pitch, which hit the pin on the full and cannoned back into the water.

Woods added: "I wasn't even really thinking. I was still a little ticked at what happened, and I was just trying to figure, okay, I need to take some yardage off this shot.

"That's all I was thinking about was trying to make sure I took some yardage off of it, and evidently, it was pretty obvious, I didn't drop in the right spot."

  • Share:


The Masters 2013

Tiger Woods: just a two-shot penalty at Augusta

Masters correct on Woods call

Golf's governing bodies have confirmed that Masters officials were right not to disqualify Tiger Woods at Augusta.

Hoffman: saw RBC Heritage hopes fade on the final day

Short but spicy

Rob Lee blogs on the quaintness of Harbour Town Golf Links and some of the players that combatted it.

Scott and Cabrera: conducted themselves with 'impeccable sportsmanship', says Ewen

Shocks and awe

Ewen Murray reflects on a dramatic Masters featuring Tianlang Guan's arrival and a classic duel.