Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
India win by 9 wickets

Zimbabwe vs India

India ease past Zimbabwe to record nine-wicket win in Bulawayo

Rohit Sharma: Scored 64 not out as India cruised to a fourth straight win over Zimbabwe

India recorded a nine-wicket victory over Zimbabwe in the fourth ODI thanks to half-centuries from Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma.

Having bowled the hosts out for 144 in Bulawayo, India coasted home to take a 4-0 lead in the series with one game remaining.

After a slow start, things started to go wrong for Zimbabwe when, in the seventh over, Mohit Sharma picked up his first international wicket having Sikandar Raza caught behind for 7.

Vusi Sibanda and Hamilton Masakadza made steady progress but when the latter was run out for 10, a middle-order collapse ensued leaving Zimbabwe 47-5.

Malcolm Waller and Elton Chigumbura added 80 for the sixth wicket but when

Sharma return to get rid of Waller, another flurry of wickets followed.


Amit Mishra picked up the final three wickets with Michael Chinouya the last wicket to fall, caught at slip. Chigumbura was left stranded on 50.

India were in no rush as they started the chase and had made just 23 when Cheteshwar Pujara was bowled by Tendai Chatara in the 10th over of the innings.

From there on it was plain sailing for the visitors. Raina joined Sharma at the crease and the pair set about their task.

Both men passed 50 before a final burst of boundaries saw India reach their target with just under 20 overs to spare.

The players will remain in Bulawayo for the final match of the series that takes place on Saturday as India look to complete a series whitewash.

Match Details

1st Aug 2013
India won the toss and elected to bowl.
Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo
T J Matibiri, B N J Oxenford
TV Umpire
O Chirombe
Match Referee
B C Broad
Reserve Umpire
L A Ngwenya


Batsman R
C.A. Pujara b Chatara 13
R.G. Sharma Not out 64
S.K. Raina Not out 65
Extras 2w, 1lb 3
Total 30.5 Overs 145 - 1
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
B.V. Vitori 5.5 1 21 0
M.T. Chinouya 4 0 14 0
T.L. Chatara 5 1 31 1
P. Utseya 9 0 42 0
E. Chigumbura 2 0 12 0
S.C. Williams 4 0 21 0
M. Waller 1 0 3 0
Full Bowling Card