Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 4 of 4
Match Drawn

Worcs vs Essex

County Championship: Worcestershire draw with Essex

Daryl Mitchell: Scored 10th century of LV= County Championship career

Thilan Samaraweera: Hit unbeaten 70 to help hosts towards fourth batting point

Daryl Mitchell completed the 10th LV= County Championship century of his career as Worcestershire played out a rain-hit draw with Essex at New Road.

With more than 200 overs lost because of the weather, the hosts occupied the crease throughout the last day with Mitchell making 156 towards a declaration in the last hour at 351-6.

The total took them into a lead of 136 while accruing four batting points and restricting their opponents to two for bowling, meaning they edged ahead of their promotion rivals in the Division Two table.

There were some uneasy moments for Mitchell early in the day but nothing that could shake his temperament as he set about building his first championship hundred since last August.

The first 50 was easy on the eye, with nine fours in 66 balls, but the next phase took twice as long as he retreated into his shell, albeit with less than half of the strike, through 15 overs in the 90s.

A square drive off Sajid Mahmood finally moved him into three figures and there was another change of gear as he accelerated to a third 50 from 53 balls.

The only wicket to fall in the morning was that of Matt Pardoe, caught at short leg for 17 from the bowling of off-spinner Tom Westley.

Moeen Ali hit 10 fours in making 54 out of 127 with Mitchell before he was caught at extra cover off Graham Napier and Thilan Samaraweera (70 not out) played with customary efficiency as the third wicket yielded 107 in 28 overs.

Essex finally claimed some reward with the new ball as David Masters began his spell by bowling Mitchell after the opener had batted for a little over five hours.

Masters finished with 3-70 before Samaraweera took his team to their target of 350 with 13 balls to spare.

Match Details

28th - 31st May 2013
Worcestershire won the toss and elected to bowl.
New Road, Worcester
J W Jeremy, G D Graham


Batsman R
D.K.H. Mitchell b Masters 156
M.G. Pardoe c Foakes b Westley 17
M.M. Ali c Pettini b Napier 54
T.T. Samaraweera Not out 70
A.N. Kervezee b Masters 7
G.M. Andrew lbw Napier 5
N.D. Pinner c Foster b Masters 7
M.A. Johnson Not out 0
Extras 2 6b, 9lb 35
Total Declared, 94.5 Overs 351 - 6
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
D.D. Masters 22 4 70 3
R.J.W. Topley 17 3 76 0
S.I. Mahmood 10 0 60 0
T. Westley 3 0 7 1
G.R. Napier 20 5 39 2
N.L.J. Browne 16.5 4 59 0
ten Doeschate 6 0 25 0
Full Bowling Card