Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
West Indies win by 7 wickets

W Indies vs Zimbabwe

Ramnaresh Sarwan powers West Indies to series win over Zimbabwe

Ramnaresh Sarwan: match-winning 120 not out

Dwayne Bravo: career-best figures

Ramnaresh Sarwan hit an ODI personal best of 120 not out as West Indies wrapped up a 2-0 series win with a seven-wicket victory over Zimbabwe in Grenada.

Dwayne Bravo's career-best 6-43 had failed to slow down Zimbabwe on their way to a commanding total of 273-8, but with Sarwan majestic, the home side got home comfortably to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

The 32-year-old should have been run out halfway through his knock, but his otherwise chanceless vigil, which helped form part of a 111-run opening stand with Kieran Powell (57) was enough for the home side.

Sarwan occupied the crease for 143 balls as he made his fourth ODI century and, as the end approached, Kieron Pollard's quickfire 41 ensured that the job was done with an over to spare.

The shred of hope Zimbabwe had of doing the business with the ball came after Hamilton Masakadza snared Powell and then Darren Bravo for a duck, but they were soon shut down by Sarwan, Narsingh Deonarine (42) and Pollard (41no).

To lose was rough justice on Zimbabwe, though, who were excellent with the bat themselves, with Masakadza and Sean Ervine putting on 110 for the fourth wicket to put them in with a real chance.

With opener Vusi Sibanda also raising his bat for a tidy 51, it was a much more accomplished performance from Zimbabwe than the one they produced in their 156-run submission two days ago, but ultimately it did not prove to be enough.

Match Details

24th Feb 2013
Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bat.
National Cricket Stadium, Tangier
J D Cloete and P J Nero


Batsman R
Powell c Taylor b Masakadza 57
Sarwan not out 120
Bravo c Taylor b Masakadza 0
Deonarine run out 42
Pollard not out 41
Extras 1nb, 11w, 2lb 14
Total 49.0 Overs 274 - 3
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Jarvis 9 1 55 0
Chatara 8 0 64 0
C.J. Chibhabha 5 0 25 0
Utseya 10 0 54 0
Masakadza 7 0 27 2
N. Mushangwe 10 0 47 0
Full Bowling Card