Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Warwickshire win by 8 wickets

Warwicks vs Worcs

Friends Life t20: Warwickshire beat Worcestershire at Edgbaston

Darren Maddy: Was in the runs again against Worcestershire

Warwickshire claimed an eight-wicket victory in their Friends Life t20 derby with Worcestershire as Varun Chopra and Darren Maddy again tormented the Royals.

The pair followed up their 20-over Warwickshire record partnership of 119 at New Road two weeks ago with one of 107 to keep the Bears in the hunt for a quarter-final place.

Chopra, Warwickshire's acting captain, topped his previous competition-best of 65 with an unbeaten 75 while Maddy added 44 as the hosts chased down Worcestershire's total of 146-8 at Edgbaston.

Warwickshire's win was their fifth in six games in the Midlands/West/Wales Group and sets up a showdown for a quarter-final place with Somerset on Tuesday.


Worcestershire failed to capitalise on their best start to an innings in this season's competition after the aggressive Moeen Ali and Thilan Samaraweera added 60 in seven overs.

Ali made 37 before top-edging a pull, giving William Porterfield the chance to atone for an earlier drop, while former Sri Lanka batsman Samaraweera (33) was bowled off-stump by Steffan Piolet.

Only Alexei Kervezee, whose workmanlike score of 27 came from 28 balls, threatened to break the shackles imposed by Jeetan Patel and Piolet.

And England international Chris Woakes snuffed out any further resistance by taking a season's best 3-28 including Joe Leach (13) in the final over.

Worcestershire made an early breakthrough when Andre Russell bowled Porterfield (1) with a beauty but Chopra and Maddy took control in front of a 12,000 crowd before the latter was caught behind.

Chopra, who struck six fours and three sixes from 57 balls, and Rikki Clarke (18 not out) both struck leg-side sixes off Gareth Andrew to lift Warwickshire to victory with 15 balls to spare.

Match Details

26th Jul 2013
Warwickshire won the toss and elected to bowl.
N G C Cowley, S A Garratt
TV Umpire
S C Gale


Batsman R
W.T.S. Porterfield b Russell 1
V. Chopra Not out 75
D.L. Maddy c Cox b Russell 44
R. Clarke Not out 18
Extras 2nb, 4w, 5lb 11
Total 17.3 Overs 149 - 2
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
J.D. Shantry 4 0 21 0
A.D. Russell 3 0 26 2
G.M. Andrew 4 0 33 0
M.M. Ali 3.3 0 28 0
J. Leach 1 0 16 0
S.H. Choudhry 1 0 11 0
D.K.H. Mitchell 1 0 9 0
Full Bowling Card