Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Yorkshire win by 5 wickets

Uva Next vs Yorks

Yorkshire boost hopes of reaching main Twenty20 Champions League draw with victory over Uva Next

David Miller: Brave innings inspired Yorkshire at The Wanderers

Yorkshire made a winning start to their Twenty20 Champions League qualifying campaign with a five-wicket victory over Uva Next at The Wanderers, Johannesburg.

The Tykes, competing in the world event for the first time, boosted their hopes of reaching the main draw by beating Sri Lanka's inaugural Premier League champions with a perfectly-timed run-chase.

South African David Miller (39 not out) was Yorkshire's star man, recovering from a nasty blow to the head to help the team chase down 150-7 with just three balls to spare.

The 2012 Friends Life t20 runners-up will qualify for the main event with victory over Trinidad and Tobago on Wednesday.


Miller and Adil Rashid (36no) were there at the end for Yorkshire after Australian opener Phil Jacques (32 off 21) had put them above the required rate.

Their progress was stalled in the eighth over when, well-placed on 66-2, Uva spin bowler Dilshan Munaweera (3-32) struck in successive deliveries to remove left-handed duo Jacques and Garry Ballance.

Rashid was handed a life in the 17th over when Bhanuka Rajapaksa dropped a regulation catch at deep midwicket and the Yorkshire all-rounder made him and his team-mates pay with back-to-back boundaries off Umar Gul in the following over.

Gul had earlier struck Miller on the head with a sharp, rising delivery, but, when young wicketkeeper David Hodgson was dismissed, the South African returned and bludgeoned Munaweera for four, six, four in a pivotal penultimate over.

Yorkshire had earlier produced a disciplined bowling and fielding performance to restrict Uva Next to a below-par total on a true batting pitch.

Captain Thilina Kamdamby top-scored for the Sri Lankans with 29 not out, but pace duo Moin Ashraf (2-29) and Steven Patterson (2-30) ensured wickets fell at regular intervals.

Match Details

9th Oct 2012
Yorkshire won the toss and elected to bowl.
New Wanderers Stadium
A Rauf and M Erasmus


Batsman R
Gale st R.S.S.S. De Zoysa b S.M.S.M. Senanayake 13
Jaques c&b E.M.G.D.Y. Munaweera 32
Root c McDonald b W.M.C. Jayampathi 11
D.A. Miller not out 39
Ballance b E.M.G.D.Y. Munaweera 0
Rashid not out 36
Hodgson st R.S.S.S. De Zoysa b E.M.G.D.Y. Munaweera 18
Extras 2w 2
Total 19.3 Overs 151 - 5
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Oram 4 0 42 0
S.M.S.M. Senanayake 3 0 19 1
Gul 3.3 0 24 0
W.M.C. Jayampathi 1 0 11 1
McDonald 4 0 23 0
E.M.G.D.Y. Munaweera 4 0 32 3
Full Bowling Card