Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Sydney Sixers win by 4 wickets

Thunder vs Sydney Sixers

Big Bash League: Sixers win Sydney derby against Thunder

Daniel Hughes and Brett Lee: Sixers duo celebrate victory

Usman Khawaja: Thunder batsman waged solo battle

Daniel Hughes hit 51 not out as Sydney Sixers chased down a target of 133 to win the Big Bash League derby by four wickets against Sydney Thunder at Stadium Australia.

Number four Hughes' 36-ball contribution featured four fours and two sixes and he was still there at the end when his seventh-wicket partner Brett Lee (12no) dispatched consecutive fours to seal the victory with an over to spare.

Thunder left-arm paceman Dirk Nannes picked up 3-24 in a losing cause.

The victory is the Sixers' second in six matches this season, while their city rivals remain bottom of the table without a win.

Usman Khawaja had earlier struck an unbeaten 66 in the Thunder's total of 132-6 after they opted to bat at Stadium Australia.

Khawaja, whose 47-ball effort contained 11 fours, played a lone hand. Simon Keen's 15 was the next highest score, while Sixers seamers Josh Lalor (2-20) and Luke Feldman (2-23) both impressed.

Don't miss any live and exclusive cricket coverage this festive season. Click here to visit Sky Sports' Festive Calendar

Match Details

30th Dec 2012
Sydney Thunder won the toss and elected to bat.
Stadium Australia
G Abood and A J Barrow

sydney sixers BATTING CARD

Batsman R
N.J. Maddinson c Gayle b Nannes 7
Lumb c S.A. Abbott b C.P. Tremain 20
D. Hughes not out 51
Haddin c S.J.C. Keen b Gayle 18
Smith c Carters b Nannes 14
Henriques b Gayle 7
O'Keefe b Nannes 3
Lee not out 12
Extras 3w, 1lb 4
Total 19.0 Overs 136 - 6
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Gayle 4 0 17 2
Nannes 4 0 24 3
C.P. Tremain 4 0 35 1
S.J. Coyte 4 0 26 0
S.A. Abbott 2 0 25 0
A. Zampa 1 0 8 0
Full Bowling Card