Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Warwickshire win by 8 runs

Sussex vs Warwicks

Yorkshire Bank 40: Warwickshire finally end wait for a win at Sussex

Jeetan Patel: Claimed two crucial wickets to help check the Sharks' progress

Chris Jordan: The pick of the Sussex bowling attack with three wickets

Warwickshire finally opened their account in this season's Yorkshire Bank 40 with an eight-run triumph over Sussex on the Duckworth-Lewis system.

After rain cut short the Group A match to 21 overs apiece, the Bears battled their way to 157-7 thanks mainly to a superb knock of 49 from Darren Maddy.

Coming in at 90-4 in the 14th over, the veteran gave the visitors some much-needed late impetus at the County Ground by cracking three sixes and four fours to make his runs from just 25 deliveries.

Chris Liddle (2-40) eventually dismissed Maddy from the final ball of the innings, the seamer having also picked up the wicket of Tim Ambrose (40) earlier.

Jordan impresses

Varun Chopra, who made 28 from 32 balls, was the only other Warwickshire batsman to reach double figures in the face of some solid bowling, Chris Jordan the pick of the Sussex attack with 3-27 from his five overs.

Although their run chase suffered a shaky start when Chris Wright claimed two wickets in the first over, the hosts appeared on track when they reached 75-2 midway through the 11th over.

However, off-spinner Jeetan Patel turned the tide in Warwickshire's favour at Hove by dismissing well-set pair Ed Joyce (31) and Luke Wright (44).

Michael Yardy made a run-a-ball 25 but when he became Wright's third victim, Sussex were suddenly 122-5 and slipping behind the required rate.

Despite an unbeaten 24 from Joe Gatting, the Sharks were sunk when Boyd Rankin took out Matt Machan and Ben Brown with back-to-back deliveries in the final over, with the home team finishing eight runs shy on 149-7.

Match Details

30th May 2013
Sussex won the toss and elected to bowl.
The PROBIZ County Ground
M J D Martin, D J David
TV Umpire
P Peter


Batsman R
C.D. Nash c Ambrose b Wright 2
L.J. Wright c Porterfield b Patel 44
R.J. Hamilton-Brown c Clarke b Wright 0
E.C. Joyce c Wright b Patel 31
M.H. Yardy c Maddy b Wright 25
J.S. Gatting Not out 24
M.W. Machan b Rankin 13
B.C. Brown lbw Rankin 0
C.J. Jordan Not out 4
Extras 2nb, 4w, 6
Total 21.0 Overs 149 - 7
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
C.J.C. Wright 4 0 27 3
R. Clarke 4 0 22 0
W.B. Rankin 5 0 45 2
J.S. Patel 4 0 29 2
S.A. Piolet 4 0 26 0
Full Bowling Card