Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Sunrisers Hyderabad win by 22 runs

Hyderabad vs Pune

Indian Premier League: Sunrisers Hyderabad see off Pune Warriors

Dale Steyn: Wiped out the Pune tail, taking the last three wickets in a hurry

Thisara Perera: Runs and wickets for the Hyderabad Sunrisers

Sunrisers Hyderabad marked their first match in the Indian Premier League with a 22-run victory over Pune Warriors in a low-scoring contest.

Paceman Dale Steyn and leg-spinner Amit Mishra claimed three wickets apiece as the Warriors, chasing just 127, were bowled out for 104 in the 19th over.

All had seemed to be going smoothly for Pune when openers Robin Uthappa and Manish Pandey put on 36, their partnership ending when the former was caught behind off the bowling of Thisara Perera for 24.

The same bowler then dismissed Marlon Samuels for five before Mishra put the Warriors in a spin, including getting Yuvraj Singh smartly stumped down the leg side by wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel.

Pandey fell for 15 off 29 balls as Pune slipped to 50-4 and they were never able to recover, despite Ross Taylor and Abhishek Nayar both making 19.

Wiped out

Steyn returned at the death to wipe out the tail; he bowled Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rahul Sharma with successive balls before ending the match with the wicket of last man Ashok Dinda, giving him figures of 3-11.

The Sunrisers had hardly found batting a lot easier themselves earlier, labouring to 126-6 from their 20 overs.

Their top five in the order all reached double figures without being able to kick on, all-rounder Perera finishing as their top scorer with 30 from 18 deliveries.

Opener Akshath Reddy contributed 27 but Hyderabad - formerly the Deccan Chargers - struggled without injured duo JP Duminy and Michael Clarke, who will miss the entire tournament with a back problem.

Match Details

5th Apr 2013
Pune Warriors won the toss and elected to bowl.
Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium
S Ravi and S J A Taufel


Batsman R
Uthappa c Patel b Perera 24
Pandey c White b Mishra 15
Samuels c White b Perera 5
Singh st Patel b Mishra 2
Taylor b A.A. Reddy 19
Nayar c Mishra 19
Mathews not out 8
Marsh run out 7
Kumar b Steyn 3
Sharma b Steyn 0
Dinda c White b Steyn 0
Extras 2w 2
Total All Out, 18.5 Overs 104
Full Batting Card

hyderabad BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
Steyn 3.5 0 11 3
Sharma 4 0 22 0
Perera 4 0 29 2
Mishra 4 0 19 3
White 1 0 2 0
A.A. Reddy 2 0 21 1
Full Bowling Card