Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Chennai Super Kings win by 77 runs

Hyderabad vs Chennai

Indian Premier League: Suresh Raina stars for Chennai Super Kings

Suresh Raina: Fell narrowly short of a century in Chennai's innings

Mike Hussey: The Australian put on 133 for the second wicket with Raina

Sunrisers Hyderabad saw their unbeaten home record in this year's Indian Premier League come to an emphatic end as the Chennai Super Kings thrashed them by 77 runs.

Suresh Raina smashed an unbeaten 99 and Michael Hussey hit 67 as the Super Kings posted a monumental total of 223-3. The Sunrisers never got close in their reply, finishing up on 146-8.

The hosts will look back with regret on their decision to insert Chennai at the toss, though Dale Steyn did escape unscathed from the carnage as his four overs went for just 17.

The rest of the Sunrisers attack wasn't so fortunate; India international Ishant Sharma went for 66 and although he picked up all three wickets to fall, Thishara Perera was also expensive.

Hussey hit four sixes and five fours at the top of the Chennai order, including putting on 45 with fellow opener Murali Vijay (29).

Raina helped add 133 for the second wicket as he fell narrowly short of a century - he blasted 11 fours, including one off the final delivery of the innings, and three sixes.

Hyderabad's hopes of a stunning run chase disappeared inside nine overs when they slumped to 64-5, Parthiv Patel the last of those wickets to fall having made 44.

Perera (23) and Karan Sharma - who finished up unbeaten on 39 - did their best to narrow the final margin of defeat, while Steyn himself added 14.

Match Details

8th May 2013
Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and elected to bowl.
Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium
S Subrat, N J Nigel
TV Umpire
K Krishnaraj
Match Referee
S Satayabrata
Reserve Umpire
A N Ammanabrole

hyderabad BATTING CARD

Batsman R
P.A. Patel c Vijay b Sharma 44
S. Dhawan run out (Dhoni) 3
K.C. Sangakkara c Morris b Ashwin 3
G.H. Vihari c Vijay b Raina 3
D.J.G. Sammy c Morris b Sharma 7
K.V. Sharma Not out 39
A. Mishra run out (Jadeja) 6
D.W. Steyn c Holder b Morris 14
Extras 4w, 4
Total 20.0 Overs 146 - 8
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
M.M. Sharma 4 0 28 2
J.O. Holder 3 0 28 0
R. Ashwin 4 0 23 1
S.K. Raina 1 0 4 1
C.H. Morris 2 0 24 1
D.J. Bravo 4 0 25 1
R.A. Jadeja 2 0 14 0
Full Bowling Card