Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
West Indies win by 17 runs

Sri Lanka vs W Indies

ICC Champions Trophy: West Indies beat Sri Lanka in warm-up clash

Dwayne Bravo: Wrapped up the victory with two late wickets

Darren Bravo: Top-scored with 71 before retiring

West Indies completed their ICC Champions Trophy preparations with a 17-run win over Sri Lanka in a warm-up match at Edgbaston.

Darren Bravo (71), Johnson Charles (58) and Ramnaresh Sarwan (55) led the scoring for the Windies, who made 297-6, while Sri Lanka were dismissed for 280 in reply.

Kumar Sangakkara top-scored with 56 as Sri Lanka mustered a competitive chase, but West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo grabbed two late wickets to seal victory.

Sri Lanka opted to bowl first and saw Charles take the initiative as his fellow opener Chris Gayle was caught and bowled by Thisara Perera for 22.

Charles followed without adding to the opening partnership of 87, while Tillakaratne Dilshan removed the dangerous Marlon Samuels (18) before a stand of 126 between Bravo and Sarwan.

Both men retired to give team-mates a chance to bat, with Kieron Pollard benefiting most with two fours and two sixes in his unbeaten 29.

Perera and Shaminda Eranga both finished with two wickets, but Lasith Malinga was unusually expensive as his eight overs cost 68.

Kusal Perera (24) and Dilshan (15) put on a brisk 39 in response before being dismissed within moments of each other, leaving veteran campaigners Mahela Jayawardene and Sangakkara at the crease.

Jayawardene managed 29 and Sangakkara reached his half-century before becoming Bravo's first victim.

After that the Windies took control, Sunil Narine seeing off Lahiru Thirimanne (8) and Angelo Mathews (4) for single-figure contributions.

In the end it needed some late hitting from tail-end duo Nuwan Kulasekara (40) and Dilhara Lokuhettige (42) to make it close, but Bravo (3-26) took two late scalps as the Windies claimed the win.

Post a Comment

All fields required, your email address will not be displayed with your comment

Post a Comment

All fields required, your email address will not be displayed with your comment

Match Details

4th Jun 2013
Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl.
N G B Nicholas, P J Peter
TV Umpire
P K Paul

sri lanka BATTING CARD

Batsman R
M.D.K.J. Perera c Pollard b Rampaul 24
K.C. Sangakkara c Ramdin b Bravo 56
A.D. Mathews c Bravo b Narine 4
B.M.A.J. Mendis c Ramdin b Best 17
K.M.D.N. Kulasekara Not out 40
L.H.D. Dilhara c Sarwan b Bravo 42
Extras 2nb, 13w, 4b, 3lb 22
Total All Out, 47.0 Overs 280
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
K.A.J. Roach 8 0 71 1
R. Rampaul 8 0 46 2
T.L. Best 7 0 57 1
S.P. Narine 10 0 26 2
M.N. Samuels 7 0 40 0
D.J. Bravo 5 0 26 3
K.A. Pollard 2 0 7 0
Full Bowling Card