Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Sri Lanka win by 17 runs (D/L Method)

Sri Lanka vs S Africa

Sri Lanka defeat South Africa to move 2-0 in the five-match ODI series

Tillakaratne Dilshan: Was the pick of the Sri Lanka attack

Sri Lanka opened up a 2-0 lead in their five-match one-day international series against South Africa following a rain-affected 17 run victory in Colombo.

Sri Lanka were declared winners on the Duckworth-Lewis Method after the visitors, set a revised target of 176 in 29 overs, could only reach 104-5 off 21 overs when rain forced the teams off again, with no more play possible.

The hosts, who won the opening ODI by 180 runs, had earlier reached 223-9 after winning the toss before the weather ended their innings with four balls remaining.

Tillakaratne Dilshan and Dinesh Chandimal top-scored with 43 apiece for Sri Lanka while Morne Morkel was the pick of the South Africa attack with figures of 3-34 off his 10 overs.

The players had been off the field for two hours by the time South Africa's revised target of 176 was announced, but that was not enough time for the tourists to get Hashim Amla back from a hospital where he had been having scans on groin and knee injuries suffered while fielding.

Amla was a late inclusion in the Proteas team having suffered muscle spasms in his neck in the lead-up to the game but the new injuries, suffered while trying to cut off a Chandimal boundary in the 43rd over, prevented him from opening the innings and he ended up not batting at all in South Africa's run chase.

Without the prolific batsman, South Africa struggled to build any momentum with Robin Peterson falling for three in the first over and JP Duminy (15), Alviro Petersen (24), AB de Villiers (12) and Faf du Plessis (eight) all being dismissed before 70 runs had been brought up.

David Miller (22 not out) and Ryan McLaren (14no) were attempting to lead a recovery but another downpour brought an early end to proceedings and South Africa were short of the score they needed to be at to win the match and level up the series.

The third match is in Pallekele on Friday.

Match Details

23rd Jul 2013
Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat.
R. Premadasa Stadium
R S A Palliyaguruge, R R Wimalasiri
TV Umpire
R A Kettleborough
Match Referee
A J Pycroft
Reserve Umpire
L E Hannibal


Batsman R
A.N. Petersen lbw Herath 24
R.J. Peterson b Malinga 3
J.P. Duminy c Sangakkara b Perera 15
A.B. de Villiers lbw Dilshan 12
F. du Plessis c Sangakkara b Herath 8
D.A. Miller Not out 22
R. McLaren Not out 14
Extras 4w, 2lb 6
Total 21.0 Overs 104 - 5
Full Batting Card

sri lanka BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
S.L. Malinga 3 0 17 1
R.M.S. Eranga 4 0 21 0
N.L.T.C. Perera 4 0 23 1
H.M.R.K.B. Herath 4 0 16 2
T.M. Dilshan 5 0 20 1
J. Mubarak 1 0 5 0
Full Bowling Card