Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
South Africa win by 12 runs

Sri Lanka vs S Africa

Sri Lanka v South Africa: JP Duminy on form as Proteas win in Colombo

South Africa celebrate their victory in the first of the three-match series

A polished all-round performance from JP Duminy helped South Africa claim a 12-run victory over Sri Lanka in the first Twenty20 in Colombo.

Duminy scored 51 as South Africa set a total of 115-6 from their 20 overs then took three wickets as the home side's chase of the modest target fell short.

Sri Lanka looked to be heading towards victory at 72-3 in the 14th over, but subsequently lost six wickets for just 23 runs as Kumar Sangakkara's unbeaten half-century proved in vain.

The tourists lost the preceding one-day series 4-1 and made a poor start to their innings in the first of three 20-over contests, with opening batsmen Quinton de Kock (5) and Henry Davids (1) both falling lbw to Sachithra Senanayak (3-14), who then bowled captain Faf du Plessis (8).

After AB de Villiers fell to Angelo Mathews for 15, Duminy and David Miller (25) took it upon themselves to steady the ship by putting on 56 for the fifth wicket.

Duminy stayed almost to the end as he fell in the final over to Ajantha Mendis shortly after bringing up his fifty when he picked out Tillakaratne Dilshan at deep midwicket.

Sri Lanka's chase was undermined by the steady fall of wickets, starting when Kusal Perera (11) miscued Morne Morkel to debutant David Wiese at point in the fourth over.

Sangakkara kept the scoreboard ticking over but Duminy accounted for Mathews (4) and Jeevan Mendis with successive balls, while their last recognised batsman, Lahiru Thirimanne, fell for just five.

Sangakkara (59 not out) brought up his fifty with his seventh four the ball after Thisara Perera had fallen to Morkel, and hammered two more fours off the same bowler in the final over.

That left Sri Lanka needing 13 off three balls, but Morkel recovered as the hosts ended their innings on 103-9.

Match Details

2nd Aug 2013
South Africa won the toss and elected to bat.
R. Premadasa Stadium
R Martinesz, Wimalasiri
TV Umpire
R S A Palliyaguruge
Match Referee
A J Pycroft
Reserve Umpire
T H Wijewardene

sri lanka BATTING CARD

Batsman R
M.D.K.J. Perera c Wiese b Morkel 11
T.M. Dilshan c de Villiers b Duminy 9
L.D. Chandimal c de Kock b Tsotsobe 8
K.C. Sangakkara Not out 59
A.D. Mathews c&b Duminy 4
B.M.A.J. Mendis c Tahir b Duminy 0
H.D.R.L. Thirimanne c de Villiers b Tahir 5
N.L.T.C. Perera c du Plessis b Morkel 0
S.M.S.M. Senanayake c de Kock b Parnell 0
S.L. Malinga c du Plessis b Parnell 0
Extras 1nb, 5w, 1lb 7
Total 20.0 Overs 103 - 9
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
L.L. Tsotsobe 3 0 11 1
M. Morkel 4 0 28 2
W.D. Parnell 3 1 8 2
M.I. Tahir 4 0 22 1
J.P. Duminy 4 0 18 3
D. Wiese 1 0 8 0
H. Davids 1 0 7 0
Full Bowling Card