Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Pakistan won by 23 runs.

Sri Lanka vs Pakistan

Afridi inspires Pakistan win

Pakistan level two-match T20 international series

Shahid Afridi: Impressed with bat and ball as Pakistan levelled the series

Shahid Afridi shone with bat and ball as Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 23 runs in Hambantota on Sunday to level the two-match T20 international series.

Afridi struck an unbeaten 52 off 33 balls to help Pakistan make 122-6 batting first and the all-rounder then took 2-17 off his four overs as Sri Lanka were bowled out for 99 in reply.

Pacemen Mohammad Sami (3-16) and Yasir Arafat (3-18) also impressed as Pakistan avenged their 37-run defeat to Sri Lanka on Friday.

Pakistan were skittled for 95 in that loss with only two of their batsmen getting into double figures and it looked set to be a similar story on Sunday as, despite winning the toss, they slumped to 41-1 with over half of their allotted overs gone.


However, the departure of captain Mohammad Hafeez for a 34-ball 24 brought Afridi to the wicket and, in partnership with Shoaib Malik, he helped turn things round with quickfire 68-run stand.

Malik contributed 27 to that partnership, but it was Afridi who was the real thorn in Sri Lanka's side, the big-hitting 32-year-old striking five boundaries and a six as he made his fourth T20 international half-century.

Sri Lanka's run chase started well enough, with Kumar Sangakkara and Tillakaratne Dilshan putting on 19 for the first wicket.

However, Sangakkara and Nuwan Kulasekara were then both dismissed in the same Arafat over with no addition to the scoreline and Sri Lanka were always playing catch-up after that.

Dilshan (18), Chamara Kapugedera (19), Dinesh Chandimal (12), Lahiru Thirimanne (18) and captain Angelo Mathews (11) all got starts, but were unable to push on as Pakistan's impressive bowling attack kept their opponents in check.

Match Details

3rd Jun 2012
R E J Martinesz and R S A Palliyaguruge

sri lanka BATTING CARD

Batsman R
Sangakkara c Malik b Arafat 8
Dilshan b Afridi 18
Kulasekara c Malik b Arafat 0
Kapugedera b Afridi 19
L.D. Chandimal b Tanvir 12
Thirimanne c Ansar b Sami 18
Mathews c Afridi b Arafat 11
Perera b Sami 0
Lokuarachchi st Ansar b Ajmal 0
Senanayake c Tanvir b Sami 1
Udana not out 1
Extras 9w, 2lb 11
Total All out, 19.2 Overs 99
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Tanvir 4 0 15 1
Arafat 3.2 0 18 3
Sami 3 0 16 3
Afridi 4 0 17 2
Ajmal 4 0 20 1
Hafeez 1 0 11 0
Full Bowling Card