Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 4 of 4
India won by 170 runs.

Sri Lanka vs India

India level after crushing win

Series will be decided in Colombo

Harbhajan: fifth 10-wicket haul

Second Test Match
India 329 (V Sehwag 201 no, G Gambhir 56, B A W Mendis 6-117) & 269 (G Gambhir 74, V Sehwag 50, B A W Mendis 4-92) v Sri Lanka 292 (D P M D Jayawardene 86, K C Sangakkara 68, B S M Warnapura 66, Harbhajan Singh 6-102) & 136 (T T Samaraweera 67 no, Harbhajan Singh 4-51)
India beat Sri Lanka by 170 runs

Spinner Harbhajan Singh claimed four for 51 as India levelled the Test series against Sri Lanka with a 170-run victory in Galle.

Chasing a victory target of 306 to win the three-Test series, the hosts were skittled out for just 136, losing their final five wickets for just six runs.

Off-spinner Harbhajan did most of the damage, claiming four second-innings wickets on his way to his fifth 10-wicket haul in Test cricket.

The only major resistance came from middle order batsman Thilan Samaraweera with 67 not out. He and Tillakaratne Dilshan (38) added 76 for the fifth wicket, before a final collapse when five wickets went for six runs.

Earlier, unorthodox spinner Ajantha Mendis claimed four for 92 from 27.2 overs as India, who resumed their second innings on 200 for four, were bowled out for 269.

Mendis' second innings performance gave him match figures of 10 for 209, his first 10-wicket match haul in only his second Test. Off spinner Muttiah Muralitharan took three for 107 as India lost their last eight wickets for 69 runs.

India lost the first Test by an innings and 239 runs last week, but completed a dramatic turnaround in Galle and now have a chance to win the series in the third and final Test which begins in Colombo on Friday.

Match Details

31st Jul 2008
B R Doctrove and R E Koertzen

sri lanka BATTING CARD

Batsman R
Vandort lbw b Singh 10
Warnapura c Laxman b Sharma 0
Sangakkara c Laxman b Khan 1
Jayawardene c Dravid b Sharma 5
Samaraweera not out 67
Dilshan c Karthik b Sharma 38
Jayawardene c Ganguly b Singh 4
Vaas lbw b Singh 0
Kulasekara c Sharma b Kumble 1
Mendis c Kumble b Singh 2
Muralitharan c Kumble 0
Extras 2nb, 4b, 2lb 8
Total 47.3 Overs 136
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Khan 8 1 18 1
Sharma 15 8 20 3
Kumble 10.3 3 41 2
Singh 14 1 51 4
Full Bowling Card