Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets.

Sri Lanka vs India

Maharoof hat-trick sinks India

Hat-trick for Sri Lankan paceman stars in comfortable win over India

Maharoof: Hat-trick

Sri Lanka paceman Farveez Maharoof claimed hat-trick against India to help his side to a commanding seven-wicket win in their Asia Cup clash in Dambulla.

Maharoof took his treble as part of a five-wicket haul that helped restrict India to just 209 all out as they lasted just 42.3 of the allotted 50 overs.

Kumar Sangakkara was the leader of the Sri Lanka response as he made 73, while Mahela Jayawardene made an unbeaten half century as they coasted to 211-3 with a full 12.3 overs to spare.

Earlier, Dinesh Karthik and Gautam Gambhir gave India a steady start, with Karthik bringing 50 up for the visitors with consecutive boundaries off Maharoof in the 11th over.

Gambhir (23) lost his wicket to Angelo Mathews in the next, thanks to a stunning diving catch by Suraj Randiv at short midwicket.

First strike

Virat Kohli (10) did not last long either as Maharoof dismissed him in the 15th over, while Karthik (40) and Suresh Raina (18) could not convert their starts into big scores.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Rohit Sharma were left to steady the ship, and they responded to the challenge and brought 150 up for their side in the 31st over.

Sharma reached his half-century in the 37th over, but lost his partner in the next as Dhoni tried to steal a quick single but fell short of his ground as Chamara Kapugedara broke the bails.

Maharoof then made further inroads with a hat-trick and broke the spine of the Indian batting order - as Ravindra Jadeja, Kumar and Khan all went first ball.

Sharma ran himself out for 69 trying to keep the strike as India were bowled out with more than seven overs to spare.


Sangakkara formed the backbone of Sri Lanka's successful chase of the visitors' paltry total of 209, while Jayawardene (53no) and Upul Tharanga (38) gave him good support.

Sri Lanka openers Tillakaratne Dilshan and Tharanga contributed 38 runs for the first wicket before Zaheer Khan broke the partnership in the sixth over.

After they both departed, Sangakkara and Jayawardene kept the score board ticking in the following overs.

The captain completed his fifty with a single as Sri Lanka posted 141-2 at the end of the 25th over.

Sangakkara lost his wicket to Praveen Kumar in the 32nd over, but it was too late for India to make a comeback, and Jaywardene took Sri Lanka home without any further damage.

Match Details

22nd Jun 2010
B F Bowden and B N J Oxenford

sri lanka BATTING CARD

Batsman R
Tharanga c Dhoni b Khan 38
Dilshan c Jadeja b Khan 24
Sangakkara c Khan b P.Kumar 73
Jayawardene not out 53
Kandamby not out 7
Extras 3w, 2b, 11lb 16
Total Close, 37.3 Overs 211 - 3
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
P.Kumar 8 2 30 1
Khan 7 1 42 2
Dinda 5 1 39 0
Ojha 10 0 49 0
Jadeja 6.3 0 29 0
Sharma 1 0 9 0
Full Bowling Card