Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Bangladesh win by 3 wickets (D/L method)

Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh

Third ODI: Bangladesh scrambled home against Sri Lanka in a rain-hit match

Nasir Hossain and Sohag Gazi celebrate a famous win

Tillakaratne Dilshan's century was in vain

Nasir Hossain guided Bangladesh to a series-tying three-wicket win in a rain-hit third and final one-day international against Sri Lanka.

Needing a further 105 runs from 80 balls after a two-and-a-half hour rain delay, the visitors lost Anamul Haque for 40 when he skied Angelo Mathews to cover.

The reckless approach continued as Jahurul Islam threw away his wicket with a slash to wicketkeeper Kumar Sangakkara after 12 runs had already come from Mathews' first over after the break.

Mushfiqur Rahim fell to a kamikaze run-out and Mahmudullah was lbw after missing a reverse sweep at Sachithra Senanayake.

But Nasir showed the way with some more measured aggression although Mominul Haque and Ziaur Rahman fell in the same Lasith Malinga over to leave their team 166-7.

The penultimate over began with two Nasir boundaries and a wide and after Nasir's sixth four helped him to an unbeaten 33 from 27 balls, Sohag Gazi top-edged his first ball for the winning boundary.

It was a very different story earlier in the day after Tillakaratne Dilshan made 125 with Kusal Perera adding 56 and Sangakkara 48 in a score of 302-5.

Dilshan and Perera quickly piled on the runs after winning the toss, before the stand was broken by Mahmudullah whose delivery was misread by Perera and pushed to Nasir at point.

Dilshan quickly formed another solid partnership alongside Sangakkara, taking the score on to 203 when the latter became Abdur Razzak's first victim.

Razzak struck again two overs later to remove Thisara Perera for four but Dilshan continued, bringing up his century from just 110 balls - including eight boundaries.

Wicket after wicket began to tumble at the other end, though, as Mathews (six), Jeevan Mendis (five) and Dinesh Chandimal (nought) all fell cheaply.

Shahadat Hossain took the prized wicket of Dilshan, caught by Nasir this time at mid-wicket, and Razzak removed Nuwan Kulasekara and Senanayake to finish with 5-62.

Match Details

28th Mar 2013
Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat.
Pallekele International Cricket Stadium
N J Llong and R S A Palliyaguruge

bangladesh BATTING CARD

Batsman R
M.A. Haque c L.D. Chandimal b Mathews 40
Ashraful lbw b S.M.S.M. Senanayake 29
M.J. Islam c Sangakkara b Mathews 26
Rahim run out 9
M.N. Hossain not out 33
Mahmudullah lbw b S.M.S.M. Senanayake 6
Haque c Sangakkara b Malinga 11
Rahman c Malinga 0
Gazi not out 4
Extras 9w, 4b, 13lb 26
Total 26.0 Overs 184 - 7
Full Batting Card

sri lanka BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
Kulasekara 4 1 29 0
Malinga 6 0 29 2
Mathews 5 0 39 2
S.M.S.M. Senanayake 6 0 26 2
Perera 5 0 44 0
Full Bowling Card