Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
New Zealand win by 1 wickets

S Africa vs New Zealand

South Africa v New Zealand, 1st ODI; James Franklin steers Black Caps home in Paarl

Mitchell McClenaghan: Four wickets for New Zealand on debut

James Franklin: Steered New Zealand home with unbeaten 47

New Zealand restored some pride on their tour of South Africa after holding their nerve to claim a dramatic one-wicket victory in the first one-day international at Paarl.

After restricting the Proteas to 208 all out - debutant pace bowler Mitchell McClenaghan taking 4-20 - the Black Caps were then indebted to James Franklin's unbeaten 47 to see them home.

At 187-9 New Zealand still required 22 runs from their final pair and Franklin took sole responsibility, finishing the match in the 46th over with a boundary off Ryan McLaren.

South Africa had earlier set a disappointing total from 46.2 overs with only Faf du Plessis (57) enjoying any success for the home side.

Debutant McClenaghan, a left-arm seam bowler, dismissed Graeme Smith and AB de Villiers in his opening burst as South Africa, who had seen Hashim Amla pinned lbw by Kyle Mills earlier, crashed to 37-3.

Colin Ingram added 29 for the hosts but he was soon heading back to the pavilion too, Nathan McCullum producing a thrilling catch as he ran backwards to take the batsman's top-edge sweep from Kane Williamson.

McClenaghan drew Quinton de Kock forward but the edge was shelled by Martin Guptill, but Franklin soon put things right as he lured De Kock into another rash shot, with Nathan McCullum displaying excellent hands as he dived in from mid-off.

Du Plessis stood firm at the other end and at least ensured South Africa passed 200, Williamson finishing the innings to end with career-best figures of 4-22.

New Zealand lost opener Martin Guptill without facing a ball in the opening over when he was run out by De Villiers off the second ball with the scoreboard still on zero.

BJ Watling was then dropped at second slip off Steyn, although South Africa kept the pressure on with the wicket of Rob Nicol to leave the visitors 4-2.

Lonwabo Tsotsobe grabbed his second wicket when Williamson cut a short ball outside off stump to Du Plessis at cover point to leave the tourists on 21-3 but a half-century partnership between Watling and Brendon McCullum put the Black Caps back on track.

The match swung back in South Africa's balance when McCullum, Grant Elliott, Watling and Jimmy Neesham fell in quick succession, leaving the Black Caps in major trouble on 105-7.

But Franklin launched an inspired counter-attack, striking five boundaries to see his side home.

Match Details

19th Jan 2013
New Zealand won the toss and elected to bowl.
Boland Bank Park, Paarl
E Haque and S George

new zealand BATTING CARD

Batsman R
R.J. Nicol c Smith b Tsotsobe 4
Watling b McLaren 45
Williamson c du Plessis b Tsotsobe 5
McCullum lbw b Kleinveldt 26
Elliott c Smith b Kleinveldt 1
Franklin not out 47
J.D.S. Neesham lbw b McLaren 0
McCullum lbw b McLaren 24
Mills b McLaren 26
McClenaghan not out 0
Extras 3nb, 15w, 13lb 31
Total 45.4 Overs 209 - 9
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Steyn 10 3 33 0
Tsotsobe 8 2 43 2
Kleinveldt 9 0 37 2
McLaren 8.4 0 46 4
Peterson 10 0 37 0
Full Bowling Card