Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Scotland win by 8 wickets

Scotland vs Nepal

Scotland have open account in the ICC World Twenty20 qualifiers

Calum MacLeod: Top-scored as Scotland secured an eight-wicket win

Calum MacLeod made 82 not out to lead Scotland to an emphatic eight-wicket victory over Nepal in their ICC World Twenty20 qualifier in Dubai.

The Scots had lost their first two matches while Nepal had won their first two but Kyle Coetzer's men got home with four balls to spare to open their account in Group B.

Safyaan Sharif (3-19) and Gordon Goudie (3-29) took six wickets between them as Nepal were restricted to 137-7 in their 20 overs, before MacLeod's 64-ball knock secured victory.

Scotland chose to field first upon winning the toss and Nepal opener Subash Khakurel smashed MacLeod for six over mid-wicket in the first over but then hit Sharif straight to Rob Taylor at mid-off.

Goudie then took two wickets in an over to reduce Nepal to 35-3 but Binod Bhandari (28) and captain Paras Khadka (27) provided some stability with a 47-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

However, Bhandari fell to Sharif and Khadka was then caught by Murphy off Goudie, before Basant Regmi hit 13 not out from seven balls to give the innings some late momentum.

A target of 138 appeared attainable for Scotland however and, after Richie Berrington (5) was stumped off Regmi, MacLeod and Matt Machan (28) added 48 for the second wicket.

Machan was caught and bowled by Khadka but Coetzer (20 not out) joined MacLeod and the duo put together an unbroken 73-run stand to see the Scots home.

MacLeod took the man of the match honours after hitting five fours and three sixes in his match-winning knock.

Match Details

18th Nov 2013
Scotland won the toss and elected to bowl.
ICC Global Cricket Academy No 2
S Sundaram, J S Joel


Batsman R
R.D. Berrington s Khakurel b Regmi 5
C.S. MacLeod Not out 82
M.W. Machan lbw Khadka 28
K.J. Coetzer Not out 20
Extras 3lb 3
Total 19.2 Overs 138 - 2
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
A. Bhattarai 4 0 29 0
J.K. Mukhiya 3 0 17 0
B. Regmi 3.2 0 28 1
S. Pun 2 0 17 0
S.P. Gauchan 3 0 21 0
P. Khadka 4 0 23 1
Full Bowling Card