Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Rajasthan Royals win by 19 runs

Rajasthan vs Kolkata

IPL: Rajasthan Royals continue strong start to season with win over Kolkata Knight Riders

Eoin Morgan: England batsman waged lone battle in Kolkata Knight Riders' run chase

Kevon Cooper: Rajasthan Royals seamer claimed 3-15 from his four overs

Eoin Morgan's half-century failed to prevent Kolkata Knight Riders suffering a 19-run defeat against Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League.

England batsman Morgan was ninth out for 51 in the penultimate over as the Knight Riders were dismissed for 125 in pursuit of a target of 145 at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.

The left-hander slammed three fours and three sixes in his 38-ball knock to revive Kolkata's run chase after they slumped to 56-6, Rajasthan seamers Siddharth Trivedi (3-23) and Rahul Shukla (2-28) doing most of the damage.

Trinidad-born seamer Kevon Cooper (3-15) removed Morgan and Shami Ahmed in the 19th over to make it two wins out of the two for the Royals this season.

Brad Hodge had earlier finished on 46 not out in Rajasthan's total of 144-6 after they had been asked to bat.

The veteran Australian hit seven fours in his 31-ball contribution, building on the good work of opening batsman Ajinkya Rahane (36).

West Indies spinner Sunil Narine was the most successful member of the Knight Riders' bowling attack with figures of 2-28, which included having Rahane caught behind.

Match Details

8th Apr 2013
Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bowl.
Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
A S Dar and S Das


Batsman R
Bisla b Shukla 1
Gambhir c D.H. Yagnik b Trivedi 22
Kallis c D.H. Yagnik b Shukla 0
Tiwary lbw b Trivedi 14
Morgan b Cooper 51
Pathan c D.H. Yagnik b Cooper 0
Shukla c Shukla b Trivedi 2
Bhatia c Binny b Tait 12
Lee c Shukla b Sreesanth 5
Ahmed c Rahane b Cooper 5
Narine not out 2
Extras 6w, 5lb 11
Total All Out, 19.0 Overs 125
Full Batting Card

rajasthan BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
Sreesanth 4 0 25 1
Tait 4 0 29 1
Shukla 3 0 28 2
Cooper 4 0 15 3
Trivedi 4 0 23 3
Full Bowling Card