Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Mumbai Indians win by 5 wickets

Pune vs Mumbai

Indian Premier League: Mumbai Indians inflict defeat on Pune Warriors

Mitchell Johnson: Took 2-8 as Mumbai beat Pune to climb to second in IPL

Yuvraj Singh: Top-scored for Pune but in vain

Mumbai Indians climbed into second in the Indian Premier League with a comfortable five-wicket win over rock bottom Pune Warriors.

Yuvraj Singh top-scored with 33 as the hosts notched just 112-8 from their 20 overs, with Mumbai reaching their target with seven balls to spare.

But the visitors were 50-3 at the halfway stage, after Dwayne Smith was out off the very first ball and Sachin Tendulkar (15) and Dinesh Karthik (17) failed to post big scores.

Still requiring 63 more runs to win, the decisive partnership of the game came from Ambati Rayudu and Rohit Sharma, who added 54 runs for the fourth wicket.

Sharma top-scored for the visitors with 37, while Rayudu chipped in with 26, before Glenn Maxwell smashed 13 not out and Harbhajan Singh finished on an unbeaten four to see Mumbai home.

Earlier, Pune won the toss and elected to bat, hoping to claim just their third win of the campaign.

But they were restricted by man-of-the-match Mitchell Johnson, who took 2-8 off his four overs, and Lasith Malinga and Abu Nechim who waded in with 2-27 each.

The win saw Mumbai climb up to second in the table, two points behind leaders Chennai Super Kings, while Pune remain rock bottom, two points adrift of the Delhi Daredevils.

Match Details

11th May 2013
Pune Warriors won the toss and elected to bat.
Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium
A Asad, A K Anil
TV Umpire
S Sudhir
Match Referee
J Javagal
Reserve Umpire
R M Rajesh


Batsman R
D.R. Smith b Dinda 0
S.R. Tendulkar c Pandey b Mendis 15
D.K. Karthik c Pandey b Singh 17
A.T. Rayudu c Mathews b Dinda 26
G.J. Maxwell Not out 13
H. Singh Not out 4
Extras 4w, 4
Total 18.5 Overs 116 - 5
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
A.B. Dinda 4 0 35 2
B. Kumar 2 0 12 0
K.W. Richardson 3.5 0 28 1
B.A.W. Mendis 4 0 15 1
Y. Singh 4 0 21 1
P.R. Zarghav 1 0 5 0
Full Bowling Card