Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Pune Warriors win by 38 runs

Pune vs Delhi

IPL: Pune Warriors win basement battle with Delhi Daredevils

Luke Wright: England all-rounder hit seven fours and a six in his 44

David Warner during the Karbonn Smart CLT20 Semi Final match between bizhub Highveld Lions and Delhi Daredevils

Delhi Daredevils picked up the IPL wooden spoon after losing to Pune Warriors by 38 runs in their final match.

Both sides came into the game at the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium on six points having managed only three wins each this season.

The Warriors made 172-5 after choosing to bat first with skipper Aaron Finch top scoring with 52 and England international Luke Wright hitting 44 off 23 balls to earn the man-of-the-match award.

The Daredevils finished on 134-9 in reply as Ali Murtaza (3-15) and Angelo Mathews (3-14) each claimed three wickets.

Australian batsman David Warner's miserable few days continued when he was out for two in the third over of Delhi's run chase. Warner faces a Cricket Australia disciplinary hearing following a recent Twitter outburst aimed at two journalists.

The result ensured the Daredevils finish bottom of the nine-team IPL, while the Warriors end up in eighth place.

Match Details

19th May 2013
Pune Warriors won the toss and elected to bat.
Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium
N J Nigel, S J A Simon
TV Umpire
V A Vineet
Match Referee
R S Ranjan
Reserve Umpire
P G Pashchim


Batsman R
D.A. Warner c Uthappa b Parnell 2
B. Chipli lbw Murtaza 16
V. Sehwag c Gomez b Murtaza 11
B.J. Rohrer b Dinda 7
I.K. Pathan c Pandey b Mathews 24
C.M. Gautam c Gomez b Mathews 30
M. Morkel c Parnell b Mathews 0
U. Yadav Not out 8
S. Nadeem c Mathews b Dinda 6
Extras 1nb, 1 5lb 16
Total 20.0 Overs 134 - 9
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
W.D. Parnell 3 0 36 1
B. Kumar 4 0 26 0
A.B. Dinda 4 0 21 2
A.G. Murtaza 4 0 15 3
Y. Singh 2 0 17 0
A.D. Mathews 3 0 14 3
Full Bowling Card