Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Deccan Chargers won by 6 wickets.

Pune vs Deccan

Deccan end Pune hopes

Warriors unable to make play-off after loss to Chargers

Sohal: Top-scored for Deccan

Pune Warriors' slim hopes of qualifying for the Indian Premier League play-offs were killed off with a six-wicket defeat to Deccan Chargers.

Deccan chased down their target of 137 with four balls to spare in Navi Mumbai, with Sunny Sohal, Kumar Sangakkara and Shikhar Dhawan all making useful contributions.

After being put into bat, Pune enjoyed a fast start as openers Jesse Ryder and Manish Pandey smashed 31 from the first four overs before the former departed for 18.

However, the next four overs saw the Warriors lose four more wickets as Sourav Ganguly, Robin Uthappa and Mithun Manhas went cheaply and Pandey's knock of 23 also came to an end.

Yuvraj Singh combined with Callum Ferguson (11) and Mitchell Marsh for handy partnerships worth 47 runs, but the skipper went for 23 after being deceived by a short ball from Daniel Christian.

Marsh went on to score 37 from 28 balls as Pune completed the 20 overs on 136-9, with Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha and Christian taking two wickets each.

In reply, Sohal and Dhawan blasted an opening stand of 67 before Yuvraj made the breakthrough as he had Dhawan stumped for 28.

Sohal (34) joined him back in the pavilion in the next over but Sangakkara and JP Duminy kept the chase on course with a run-a-ball partnership of 35.

When Sangakkara went for 25, the Chargers needed 29 off as many balls and although Duminy (23) was bowled by fellow South African Wayne Parnell, Bharat Chipli and Christain (14 not out) rattled off the remaining runs.

Match Details

16th May 2011
Gymkhana Ground, Mumbai
S Ravi and S K Tarapore


Batsman R
Sohal lbw b Sharma 34
Dhawan st Uthappa b Singh 28
Sangakkara c Uthappa b Sharma 25
Duminy b Parnell 23
Christian not out 14
Chipli not out 5
Extras 9w 9
Total Close, 19.2 Overs 138 - 4
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Kumar 2 0 10 0
Parnell 3.2 0 27 1
Sharma 4 0 25 2
Marsh 3 0 30 0
Singh 4 0 27 1
Manhas 3 0 19 0
Full Bowling Card