Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Delhi Daredevils win by 3 wickets

Perth vs Delhi

Virender Sehwag hit a half century as Delhi Daredevils beat Perth Scorchers

Virender Sehwag: Hit 52 from 44 balls as Delhi Daredevils beat Perth Scorchers

Simon Katich: Scored 34 as Perth Scorchers crashed out of the Champions League Twenty20

The Delhi Daredevils got home with three balls to spare to move to the brink of a semi-final place and send Perth Scorchers crashing out of the Champions League Twenty20.

The Western Australian side went down to a three-wicket defeat in the Group A clash in Cape Town after valiantly attempting to defend a below-par 121-5.

While they claimed wickets at regular intervals, Virender Sehwag's 52 from 44 balls proved pivotal as the Indian side fell across the line in the final over to move to the brink of qualifying for the semi-finals, having now won two and suffering a rain off in their three games.

Morne Morkel prevented the Scorchers from finding any momentum in their innings as the South Africa quick grabbed 3-19, including the early wicket of Herschelle Gibbs (six).

Shaun Marsh (39) and Simon Katich (34) added 73 for the second wicket but the Scorchers failed to kick on as Morkel returned to remove big hitters Mitch Marsh (20) and Luke Ronchi (two).

The Daredevils were in early trouble in their chase as Mahela Jayawardene, Kevin Pietersen and Ross Taylor all failed to reached double figures but it was Sehwag, playing a more subdued role than normal, who provided the backbone.

The opener reached his half-century, having only cleared the ropes once, before he slashed Nathan Rimmington to Joe Mennie on the fence.

That left the Daredevils on 96-6, and needing 26 from as many balls, but tailender Pawan Negi saw them home when he drove Rimmington to the ropes with three balls left.

Delhi have 10 points and will definitely make the last four if they win their final Group A game against Nashua Titans on October 23.

Match Details

21st Oct 2012
Delhi Daredevils won the toss and elected to bowl.
A Rauf and S J A Taufel


Batsman R
Jayawardene c Beer b J.M. Mennie 4
Sehwag c J.M. Mennie b N.J. Rimmington 52
U. Chand c Ronchi b J.M. Mennie 3
Pietersen c Marsh b Beer 9
Taylor lbw b Beer 5
Pathan c Katich b N.J. Rimmington 14
Ojha c Ronchi b N.M. Coulter-Nile 6
P. Negi not out 7
Agarkar not out 11
Extras 9w, 1b, 2lb 12
Total 19.3 Overs 123 - 7
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
N.J. Rimmington 3.3 0 29 2
J.M. Mennie 4 0 21 2
N.M. Coulter-Nile 4 0 25 1
G.B. Hogg 4 0 27 0
Beer 4 0 18 2
Full Bowling Card