Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
South Africa win by 117 runs

Pakistan vs S Africa

Fifth ODI: South Africa close out 4-1 series success against Pakistan

AB de Villiers: South Africa captain celebrates his 15th ODI hundred

AB de Villiers hit a century as South Africa completed a 4-1 series win over Pakistan with a 117-run victory in the fifth one-day international in Sharjah.

Skipper De Villiers finished on 115 not out in his side's total of 268-7 after they had opted to bat first.

Pakistan were all out for 151 in 35.3 overs in reply, fast bowler Wayne Parnell taking 3-36.

South Africa lost Hashim Amla lbw for four to Mohammad Irfan (1-52) in the opening over but a half-century stand for the second wicket between Quinton de Kock (34) and Faf du Plessis (46) put them on track.

De Villiers, batting at number five, came to the crease at 62-3 in the 16th over after De Kock and JP Duminy (2) had departed in quick succession.

And South Africa's limited-overs skipper batted through, hitting 10 fours and three sixes in a 102-ball contribution, his 15th hundred in ODIs.

Double collapse

South Africa seamer Vernon Philander (2-23) struck twice and new-ball partner Lonwabo Tsotsobe (1-28) once to reduce Pakistan to 17-3 in the ninth over of their run chase.

Sohaib Maqsood resisted with 53, his second half-century in a row, but Pakistan collapsed again, going from 128-5 to 151 all out in less than six overs.

Parnell started the meltdown by having Shahid Afridi (9) caught and bowled and then added the wickets of Saeed Ajmal (1) and Irfan (0) in consecutive overs.

South Africa, who drew the preceding Test series between the sides 1-1, conclude their visit to the Middle East with a pair of Twenty20 internationals in Dubai on November 13 and 15.

Match Details

11th Nov 2013
South Africa won the toss and elected to bat.
Sharjah CA Stadium, UAE
A Ahsan, R K Richard
TV Umpire
S J Stephen
Match Referee
R S Ranjan
Reserve Umpire
Z Zameer


Batsman R
M. Hafeez b Philander 6
A. Shehzad c Philander b Tsotsobe 2
S. Maqsood c Philander b Duminy 53
U. Amin lbw Philander 5
M.K. Niazi c Miller b McLaren 18
U. Akmal lbw Duminy 30
S.S.M.K. Afridi c&b Parnell 9
S. Tanvir c de Kock b McLaren 15
S. Ajmal lbw Parnell 1
M. Irfan c Amla b Parnell 0
J.M. Khan Not out 1
Extras 11w, 11
Total All Out, 35.3 Overs 151
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
V.D. Philander 8 2 23 2
L.L. Tsotsobe 7 0 28 1
R. McLaren 4.3 1 21 2
R.J. Peterson 5 0 29 0
W.D. Parnell 7 1 36 3
J.P. Duminy 4 1 14 2
Full Bowling Card