Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
South Africa win by 6 runs

Pakistan vs S Africa

T20 international: South Africa beat Pakistan in Dubai by six runs

South Africa celebrate a T20 series win in Dubai

South Africa benefited from another Pakistan batting collapse to win the second Twenty20 international by six runs in Dubai and claim a 2-0 series win.

The Proteas managed to set a challenging total of 150-5 from their 20 overs, but Pakistan looked well placed to level the series until they lost six wickets for just 43 runs to come up six runs short at 144-9 in 20 overs.

After winning the first game in the series by nine wickets, South Africa produced another solid outing with the bat thanks to a second-wicket stand of 78 by Faf Du Plessis and Hashim Amla.

Du Plessis made his unbeaten 58 from just 48 balls with three sixes while Amla added 48 in only 41 deliveries with three fours and two maximums.

Pakistan off-spinner Saeed Ajmal took 3-25 while paceman Sohail Tanvir chipped in with 2-21 as the pick of the bowlers for the nominated home side.

A 38-run opening partnership for Pakistan from Ahmed Shehzad (21) and Nasir Jamshed (19) put them on a solid platform, but wickets soon started tumbling.

Sohaib Maqsood produced the only other meaningful offering with his top score of 37 as Wayne Parnell finished with 3-25 while Imran Tahir took 2-21 and Dale Steyn chipped in with 2-20.

Match Details

15th Nov 2013
South Africa won the toss and elected to bat.
Dubai International Cricket Stadium
A Ahsan, Z Zameer
TV Umpire
A Ahmed
Match Referee
R S Ranjan
Reserve Umpire
Q Qaiser


Batsman R
N. Jamshed c Amla b Davids 19
A. Shehzad c McLaren b Parnell 21
M. Hafeez lbw Parnell 0
S. Malik b Tahir 15
S. Maqsood c de Kock b Parnell 37
U. Akmal c Tahir b McLaren 11
A. Razzaq b Tahir 0
S.S.M.K. Afridi c du Plessis b Steyn 14
S. Tanvir b Steyn 6
S. Ajmal Not out 7
M. Irfan Not out 2
Extras 1nb, 7w, 2b, 2lb 12
Total 20.0 Overs 144 - 9
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
D.W. Steyn 4 1 20 2
L.L. Tsotsobe 3 0 30 0
R. McLaren 4 0 38 1
W.D. Parnell 4 0 25 3
H. Davids 1 0 6 1
M.I. Tahir 4 0 21 2
Full Bowling Card