Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
New Zealand win by 87 runs

New Zealand vs India

Ross Taylor hits his second successive century to help New Zealand beat India yet again

Ross Taylor: Made 106 out of New Zealand's total of 303-5 in Wellington

Ross Taylor hit his second successive one-day hundred as New Zealand wrapped up a 4-0 series victory with a crushing 87-run win over India in Wellington.

Taylor made 102 from 106 deliveries and Kane Williamson hit 88 as the hosts amassed 303-5 after being put into bat at the Westpac Stadium.

India got nowhere near in reply, bowled out for 216 in the final over. Virat Kohli once again top-scored for the tourists with 82, including sharing a 67-run stand for the fifth wicket with his skipper, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (47).

However they were always up against it once the top order had slumped to 30-3 inside 14 overs, Matt Henry making a sparkling start to his international career with two early wickets.

The 22-year-old seamer went on to dismiss Ambati Rayadu (20) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who made 20 in the closing stages, by which time the game was already over as a contest, to finish with figures of 4-38 on debut.

All-round performance

Fellow paceman Kyle Mills, who bowled his first six overs at a cost of eight runs, claimed 2-35 while Williamson completed a fine all-round performance by taking 2-19 with his off-spin, Dhoni one of his victims.

He had earlier registered a fifth consecutive half-century in the series, putting on 152 for the third wicket with Taylor - their third three-figure partnership against India in 2014.

They had come together after the opening duo of Martin Guptill (16) and Jesse Ryder (17) had both fallen during a tentative start from the Black Caps.

Williamson eventually departed when he sliced a Varun Aaron delivery to Ajinkya Rahane at point. Brendon McCullum came out and quickly contributed 23 off 18 balls before he was caught at cover trying to drive Kohli.

Taylor brought up his 10th ODI ton with a boundary through mid-wicket, but was out next ball attempting to launch into Mohammed Shami, who recorded figures of 1-61 despite three early maidens.

Jimmy Neesham weighed in with an unbeaten 34 off 19 balls to take New Zealand past 300, leaving India, whose recent losing run has seen them slip from the top of the ICC rankings, a tall order if they were to salvage some pride.

They were unable to do so despite the best efforts of Kohli; Dhonis' side will hope for better fortunes in the upcoming two-Test series against the Kiwis, the first of which gets underway in Auckland next Thursday.

Match Details

31st Jan 2014
India won the toss and elected to bowl.
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
B F Bowden, R J Tucker
TV Umpire
D J Walker
Match Referee
D C Boon
Reserve Umpire
G A V Baxter


Batsman R
R.G. Sharma c Taylor b Mills 4
S. Dhawan c McCullum b Henry 9
V. Kohli c sub b McCullum 82
A.M. Rahane lbw Henry 2
A.T. Rayudu c Williamson b Henry 20
M.S. Dhoni c Neesham b Williamson 47
R. Ashwin b Williamson 7
R.A. Jadeja c Guptill b Mills 5
B. Kumar c Ronchi b Henry 20
M.S. Ahmed Not out 14
V.R. Aaron b Neesham 0
Extras 1nb, 4w, 1lb 6
Total All Out, 49.4 Overs 216
Full Batting Card

new zealand BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
K.D. Mills 10 1 35 2
M.J. McClenaghan 10 0 45 0
M.J. Henry 10 1 38 4
J.D.S. Neesham 5.4 0 45 1
N.L. McCullum 10 1 33 1
K.S. Williamson 4 0 19 2
Full Bowling Card