Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Pune Warriors won by 29 runs.

Mumbai vs Pune

Indians destroyed by Dinda

Warriors rely on contributions from Uthappa and Smith

Ashok Dinda: claimed four wickets

Ashok Dinda claimed four wickets as Pune Warriors triumphed in a low-scoring Indian Premier League clash against Mumbai Indians.

Seamer Dinda flattened Mumbai's top order at the Wankhede Stadium, removing Ambati Rayudu (one) and Rohit Sharma (one) in his first over.

He also dismissed the dangerous James Franklin for 32 before returning to the attack to get Harbhajan Singh lbw for 16, giving him final figures of 4-17.

Murali Kartik also played his part for the Warriors with 2-14, including having opener Richard Levi stumped just two balls into Mumbai's attempt to chase down a target of 130.

Well short

In the end the Indians finished up well short on 101-9 from their 20 overs, despite Dinesh Karthik's run-a-ball 32 that included four boundaries and a six.

Pune had not found life easy with the bat earlier in the day, battling their way to 129-9 after being put in by their opponents.

They too struggled up front, losing openers Manish Pandey and Sourav Ganguly inside the powerplay overs, before Robin Uthappa and Steven Smith got the innings back on track.

Uthappa made 36 before going caught and bowled to Keiron Pollard while Smith top-scored with 39, the Australian all-rounder hitting four boundaries in his 32-ball knock before perishing in the final over.

Match Details

6th Apr 2012
The Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
A Chaudhary and S J A Taufel


Batsman R
Levi st Uthappa b Kartik 0
Rayudu c Kartik b Dinda 1
Sharma c Uthappa b Dinda 1
Franklin c Ferguson b Dinda 32
Karthik st Uthappa b Kartik 32
Yadav b Samuels 0
Pollard b Sharma 8
Singh lbw b Dinda 16
Malinga c Uthappa b Parnell 5
Ojha not out 0
Patel not out 0
Extras 4w, 1lb 5
Total Close, 20.0 Overs 100 - 9
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Kartik 3 0 14 2
Dinda 4 0 17 4
Samuels 4 0 21 1
Parnell 3 0 18 1
Sharma 4 0 16 1
Kumar 2 0 13 0
Full Bowling Card