Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
New South Wales won by 5 wickets.

Mumbai vs NSW

Smith carries NSW home

Franklin's lone vigil not enough in the final reckoning for Mumbai

Smith: made an unbeaten 45

Steven Smith guided New South Wales to a five-wicket victory in a low-scoring Group A clash with Mumbai Indians in Chennai.

The Australia international hit an unbeaten 45 in his side's run chase, his 47-ball knock including five boundaries and a solitary six.

Smith combined with Ben Rohrer (26 not out) in an unbroken sixth-wicket stand of 73 that saw New South Wales past the Indians' total of 100-7 with three overs to spare.

They had appeared in serious trouble before the pair came together, slipping to 28-5 as Mumbai's Abu Nechim claimed three wickets with the new ball.

Early wobbles

Shane Watson became the seamer's first victim when he was bowled off both pads, while opening partner David Warner perished in the same over for 12 having hit the first three balls he faced to the boundary.

However the Indians simply didn't have enough runs to play with in the final reckoning, their innings suffering a disastrous start when they slipped to 9-3.

Stuart Clark (2-15) caused the early mayhem and with wickets continuing to fall steadily, James Franklin was forced to fight a lone vigil.

The New Zealand all-rounder made 42 not out from 51 deliveries, creeping the final total into three figures with a scampered two off the final ball.

Rajagopal Sathish (14) and Harbhajan Singh (15) added some belated hitting in the closing overs, but their final total simply never looked enough to stop New South Wales from recording a second win in three outings.

Match Details

2nd Oct 2011
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
J D Cloete and S K Tarapore


Batsman R
Watson b Ahmed 3
Warner c Singh b Ahmed 12
Smith c Rayudu b Ahmed 8
Katich lbw b Malinga 0
Smith not out 45
Henriques lbw b Chahal 0
Rohrer not out 26
Extras 5w, 2lb 7
Total Close, 17.0 Overs 101 - 5
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Malinga 4 0 23 1
Ahmed 4 0 23 3
Chahal 3 0 17 1
Singh 3 0 14 0
Pollard 2 0 14 0
Franklin 1 0 8 0
Full Bowling Card