Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Deccan Chargers won by 10 runs.

Mumbai vs Deccan

Indians fall short in Mumbai

Pollard can't power Mumbai home as they fall just short in run chase

Sangakkara: made 27 for Deccan

Deccan Chargers squeezed to a 10-run win over Mumbai Indians in a low-scoring Indian Premier League encounter at the Wankhede Stadium.

Chasing a target of 136, the Indians looked dead and buried when they lost skipper Sachin Tendulkar (37) in the 16th over to slip to 83-6.

However Kieron Pollard produced a late onslaught to threaten a stunning victory, the West Indian hitting 24 from just 13 deliveries at the death.

The all-rounder shared a seventh-wicket stand worth 40 with Harbhajan Singh, who finished up unbeaten on 17, but his dismissal with two balls remaining in the innings put paid to the Indians' chances.

Tirumalasetti Suman (14) was the only other Mumbai batsman to make it into double figures before falling to Anand Rajan, who picked up 3-27.

Contrasting knocks

The Chargers had earlier managed to register 135-6 after opting to bat first, with Kumar Sangakkara and Shikhar Dhawan both making 27.

Former Sri Lanka skipper Sangakkara put on 38 with Sunny Sohal (20) after fellow opener Michael Lumb had been bowled by Lasith Malinga in the very first over of the match.

Daniel Christian weighed in with 18 but when he went with the total on 105-6 with less than two overs remaining, Deccan looked to be in trouble.

Dhawan, though, gave his side's innings some much-needed late impetus, hitting a six and two fours in an 18-ball knock that proved crucial in the final reckoning.

Match Details

14th May 2011
Gymkhana Ground, Mumbai
S Ravi and S K Tarapore


Batsman R
Tendulkar lbw b Rajan 37
Blizzard b Duminy 1
Rayudu b Sharma 2
Sharma c Sangakkara b Sharma 4
Symonds c Sharma b Mishra 8
Suman c Dhawan b Rajan 14
Pollard c Lumb b Rajan 24
Singh not out 17
Extras 8w, 8b, 2lb 18
Total Close, 20.0 Overs 125 - 8
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Duminy 2 0 3 1
Sharma 4 0 30 2
Ojha 4 0 16 0
Rajan 3 0 27 3
Christian 3 0 21 0
Mishra 4 0 18 1
Full Bowling Card