Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Mumbai Indians win by 60 runs

Mumbai vs Chennai

IPL: Mumbai Indians skittle Chennai Super Kings for just 79

Mitchell Johnson: Claimed three wickets in an over

Rohit Sharma finished the Mumbai innings with a flourish

Mumbai Indians toppled Indian Premier League leaders Chennai Super Kings after skittling MS Dhoni's men for just 79 on Sunday.

The 60-run victory blew the formbook out of the window and brought an abrupt end to Chennai's seven-game winning streak.

The Super Kings would have fancied their chances of setting a new IPL record number of consecutive wins at the halfway stage after Mumbai struggled to just 139-5 batting first on a slow track.

But Mitchell Johnson (3-27), who had fellow Aussie Mike Hussey dropped three times by Kieron Pollard in his first over, claimed three wickets in his next and Pragyan Ojha (3-11) claimed three in 14 balls to bundle Chennai out for their lowest total and the fourth lowest in IPL history.

Hussey (22) was one of only three Chennai batsmen to post double figures during a disastrous run-chase.

The left-hander was sensationally put down three times in a row by Pollard at cover point off Johnson, who came back in style with the wickets of Murali Vijay (2), Suresh Raina (0) and Subramaniam Badrinath (0) in his next set of six.

That burst reduced Chennai to 9-3 and the match appeared over as a contest when Ojha removed Hussey with his first delivery to put the hosts six down with just 40 on the board.

The India left-arm spinner added Test team-mates Dhoni (10) and Ravi Jadeja (20) to his wicket-haul, the latter dismissal sealing an emphatic 60-run win.

Rohit Sharma's unbeaten 39 was the highlight of an otherwise below-par batting display from Mumbai earlier in the day.

The Indians skipper shared an unbroken 57-run partnership with Harbhajan Singh (25 off 11) at the death, the pair adding three sixes between them.

Match Details

5th May 2013
Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bat.
The Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
H D P K Handunnettige, C K C
TV Umpire
Match Referee
R S Roshan
Reserve Umpire
R M Rajesh


Batsman R
M.E.K. Hussey c Smith b Ojha 22
M. Vijay b Johnson 2
S.K. Raina c Pollard b Johnson 0
S. Badrinath lbw Johnson 0
D.J. Bravo c Rayudu b Suyal 9
R. Ashwin b Singh 2
M.S. Dhoni c Pollard b Ojha 10
R.A. Jadeja c Rayudu b Ojha 20
C.H. Morris b Malinga 1
M.M. Sharma c Suyal b Malinga 0
B. Laughlin Not out 4
Extras 8w, 1lb 9
Total All Out, 15.2 Overs 79
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
M.G. Johnson 3 0 27 3
P.S. Suyal 3 0 21 1
H. Singh 4 0 13 1
S.L. Malinga 3 0 6 2
P.P. Ojha 2.2 0 11 3
Full Bowling Card