Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Hobart Hurricanes win by 7 wickets

Stars vs Hurricanes

Big Bash League: Hobart Hurricanes shock Melbourne Stars in semi-final

Big Bash - Shock Hurricanes win

Tim Paine: Hobart Hurricanes opener celebrates his half-century with a fist pump

Hobart Hurricanes defied the formbook to earn a seven-wicket win over Melbourne Stars in the first Big Bash League semi-final.

Hurricanes opener Tim Paine hit 65 and skipper George Bailey finished on 32 not out as the Tasmanians chased down a target of 142 with 11 balls to spare at the MCG.

The Stars had gone unbeaten through the league phase with eight wins in a row but failed to deliver under knockout pressure.

England international Luke Wright (13) was part of an early Cameron Boyce-inspired collapse that saw the Melbourne franchise reduced to 45-4 in the ninth over.

Brad Hodge engineered a Stars recovery of sorts with a 35-ball 51, putting on 62 with David Hussey (24) for the fifth wicket before they finished up on 141-8 from their 20 overs. Leg-spinner Boyce had figures of 3-11 and seamer Ben Laughlin 2-33.

Slam Dunk

That proved wholly inadequate as Paine and Ben Dunk set about the run chase in no-nonsense fashion, Dunk blasting 30 from 20 balls during a 51-run stand inside six overs.

Seamer John Hastings removed Dunk and leg-spinner James Muirhead accounted for Shoaib Malik (3) but Paine and Bailey combined in a third-wicket partnership of 64 to take the visitors to the brink of victory.

Paine was run out with 15 still needed but former Derbyshire batsman Travis Birt (8no) joined Australia's T20 skipper Bailey to complete the job from the first ball of the penultimate over. The Stars have now lost at this stage of the competition in all three editions of the Big Bash.

The Hurricanes, who finished fourth in the league standings, await the winner of Wednesday's semi-final between Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers at the SCG. The final takes place on Friday.

Match Details

4th Feb 2014
Melbourne Stars won the toss and elected to bat.
Melbourne Cricket Ground
G A Abood, A P Ward
TV Umpire
S J Nogajski
Match Referee
R W Stratford
Reserve Umpire
P J Gillespie

hurricanes BATTING CARD

Batsman R
B.R. Dunk c Wright b Hastings 30
T.D. Paine run out (Malinga) 65
S. Malik c Wright b Muirhead 3
G.J. Bailey Not out 32
T.R. Birt Not out 8
Extras 3w, 1lb 4
Total 18.1 Overs 142 - 3
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
S.L. Malinga 4 0 33 0
D.J. Worrall 4 0 30 0
J.W. Hastings 3.1 0 26 1
J.M. Muirhead 4 0 27 1
L.J. Wright 1 0 6 0
M.P. Stoinis 2 0 19 0
Full Bowling Card