Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Melbourne Renegades win by 48 runs

Renegades vs Strikers

Big Bash League: Muttiah Muralitharan and Marlon Samuels star for Melbourne Renegades

Muttiah Muralitharan: celebrates the key wicket of Kieron Pollard in the Strikers' reply

Tom Cooper: hit a crucial half-century for Melbourne, helping them reach 155-6

The Melbourne Renegades bounced back to winning ways in the Big Bash League with a resounding 48-run triumph over the Adelaide Strikers at the Etihad Stadium.

Having seen their perfect record come to an end against the Perth Scorchers last time out, the Renegades strolled to victory to leapfrog Melbourne rivals the Stars and take over at the top of the table.

Their spinners were the key against the Strikers, Muttiah Muralitharan leading the way with 3-18, including dismissing the dangerous duo of Kieron Pollard and Theo Doropoulos in successive deliveries, from his four overs.

Fellow overseas signing Marlon Samuels also claimed three wickets, Adelaide skipper Johan Botha one of the West Indian's victims when he was comfortably caught by opposite number Aaron Finch at cover for a run-a-ball 31.

Michael Klinger (24) and Michael Neser, who made an unbeaten 29 down the order, were the only other Adelaide batsmen to reach double figures as they were bowed out for 107 with nine balls to spare.

The Renegades had earlier worked their way up to 155-6 from their 20 overs despite losing Finch - the tournament's top run-scorer - Michael Hill and Samuels with only 51 on the scoreboard.

Ben Rohrer steadied the ship with 35 from 27 deliveries before he fell to a superb return catch by Pollard, the all-rounder running backwards before diving to take a fine one-handed effort just above the turf.

However Tom Cooper continued the recovery with a well-made 59, the Dutch international hitting two sixes and the same number of fours in a 46-ball knock that eventually came to an end off the final ball of Melbourne's innings.

Match Details

2nd Jan 2013
Adelaide Strikers won the toss and elected to bowl.
Docklands Stadium
S J Nogajski and P Wilson


Batsman R
Klinger c W.D. Sheridan b N.J. Rimmington 24
T.P. Ludeman c A.W. O'Brien b N.J. Rimmington 6
Ferguson c Finch b Samuels 6
N.J. Reardon b Muralitharan 4
Botha c Finch b Samuels 31
Pollard lbw b Muralitharan 0
T.P. Doropoulos lbw b Muralitharan 0
M.G. Neser not out 29
K.W. Richardson c B.J. Rohrer b Samuels 0
Young b W.D. Sheridan 3
G.D. Putland run out 0
Extras 1w, 2b, 1lb 4
Total All Out, 18.3 Overs 107
Full Batting Card

renegades BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
A.W. O'Brien 3 0 19 0
D.J. Pattinson 3 0 27 0
N.J. Rimmington 4 0 22 2
Muralitharan 4 0 18 3
Samuels 3 0 16 3
W.D. Sheridan 1.3 0 2 1
Full Bowling Card