Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 4 of 4
Match Drawn

Leics vs Derbys

Foxes produce great escape

Naik and Taylor share 195 for eighth wicket to deny Derbyshire

Naik: Leicestershire saviour

LV County Championship - Division Two
Grace Road
Leicestershire 177 (P S Jones 4-43) & 429-8 (J K H Naik 109 no, J W A Taylor 94, M A G Boyce 80) v Derbyshire 478-8 dec (C J L Rogers 163, G M Smith 95)
Leicestershire (6pts) drew with Derbyshire (12pts)

Jigar Naik's maiden first-class century was the highlight as Leicestershire batted throughout the final day to claim a draw against Derbyshire at Grace Road.

Naik, the first Leicester-born Asian to represent the county, finished 109 not out after coming to the crease at number nine with his side in trouble at 224-7 in their second innings, still 77 runs behind.

James Taylor and Naik put on 195 for the eighth wicket to lead the Foxes to safety.

Taylor was bowled by Greg Smith (1-72) six short of a century, but Naik - whose previous highest first-class score was 16 - brought up his personal three figures from 180 balls.

He was unbeaten on 109, including 19 fours, when a draw was agreed with the hosts on 429-8, a lead of 128.

Leicestershire had looked to be heading for defeat after slipping from an overnight position of 154-2 to 224-7 at the start of the day.

Matthew Boyce (80) and HD Ackerman (24) both went early and the rest of the middle-order quickly subsided before Taylor and Naik produced their remarkable rescue act.

Day three

Leicestershire fought bravely to give themselves the chance of a draw on Friday after Derbyshire set them 301 to avoid an innings defeat.

The visitors piled on another 201 runs before declaring on 478 for eight and then removed Greg Smith in the first over before the Foxes batsmen dug in.

Matt Boyce led the rearguard with an unbeaten 72 but they still require 147 to make Derbyshire bat again, although the fielding side are without Graham Wagg, who injured his shoulder on the opening day.

Centurion Chris Rogers and Greg Smith took their third wicket partnership to 189 before the latter fell five short of his ton, bowled by AJ Harris.

Rogers moved on to 163 but fell in the hunt for quick runs, skying a catch to deep square leg off Wayne White after a six-and-a-half hour knock.

Wavell Hinds (40) and James Pipe (32) added further useful runs before the declaration 40 minutes after lunch, and Smith clipped his second ball to mid-wicket off Stefan Jones.

The same bowler then saw Boyce dropped by wicketkeeper Pipe on 17 and the opener cashed in to reach his second half-century of the campaign.

He and Boeta Dippenaar added 107 for the second wicket before the South African was also caught at mid-wicket off Dan Redfern.

But Hylton Ackerman joined Boyce and the pair saw the Foxes through to the close with an unbeaten stand of 47.

Day two

Chris Rogers scored his third championship century of the season as Derbyshire drove home their advantage on day two at Grace Road.

The left-handed Australian batted throughout the day's play, which was delayed by more than three hours following steady rain, to finish on 122 not out, with Greg Smith unbeaten on 74 as the visitors reached 277 for two, a lead of 100.

The Foxes bowlers beat Rogers' outside edge on numerous occasions when play got under way, but the Aussie battled his way to 50 from 149 balls with 25 of the runs coming in singles after Derbyshire resumed on 67 for one.

Rogers put on 83 with Garry Park for the second wicket, with Park also struggling with the lateral movement of the ball, although he looked in better touch before spinner Jigar Naik claimed the only wicket to fall, bowling Park off his pads for 41.

The tea interval arrived soon afterwards and Rogers came out with renewed vigour for the final session, hitting Nathan Buck and AJ Harris to the fence with sumptuous drives.

Smith was quickly into his stride, smashing four successive boundaries in one Harris over and reached his fifty off 73 balls with eight fours.

The century partnership arrived in just 22 overs before Rogers reached his ton from 230 deliveries, and Leicestershire could do little to halt the flow of runs.

But they will be disappointed to give Rogers a life late in the day, HD Ackerman dropping him at slip off Claude Henderson as the batsmen ended with an unbeaten stand of 145.

Day one

Promotion contenders Derbyshire have taken a firm grip on their County Championship game against Leicestershire at Grace Road after bowling out the hosts for 177.

Steffan Jones, on loan from Somerset, starred with the ball, taking 4-43 while Greg Smith ended with 3-31 as bottom-of-the-table Leicestershire collapsed after winning the toss.

James Taylor was their top scorer with 45, the display meaning the absence of a batting point for Leicestershire for the third time in six home matches.

Two wickets in three balls by Jones in his second over set the tone as Matt Boyce was brilliantly caught at gulley by Gary Park and Boeta Dippenaar was caught behind by wicket keeper James Pipe.

Hylton Ackerman was then caught at slip off Smith before Leicestershire's Greg Smith (20) slashed a catch to gulley off Tim Groenewald.

Taylor and Tom New offered token resistance with a stand of 37 to bring up the hundred before the latter gave Park his third catch at gulley.

Wayne White came and went before Taylor was trapped lbw attempting to sweep leg spinner Mark Lawson.

At 128-7, the home side looked in real danger of being bowled out for under 150 but a last wicket stand of 30 between Nathan Buck and AJ Harris gave the total a boost.

Derbyshire were just 110 runs behind at 67-1 at the close, the only wicket falling when Wayne Madsen was trapped lbw facing Claude Henderson's first ball.

Match Details

11th - 14th Aug 2009
Grace Road, Leicester
R J Bailey and J W Holder


Batsman R
Smith c Sub b Jones 0
Boyce c Pipe b Jones 80
Dippenaar c Park b Redfern 37
Ackerman c Smith b Groenewald 29
Taylor b Smith 94
New c Pipe b Lawson 19
White run out 4
Henderson c Pipe b Park 9
Naik not out 109
Buck not out 5
Extras 16nb, 1w, 8b, 13lb 43
Total Close, 137.0 Overs 429 - 8
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Jones 34 8 92 2
Groenewald 30 6 97 1
Park 10 1 32 1
Smith 26 8 72 1
Lawson 28 5 78 1
Redfern 7 1 31 1
Madsen 2 1 1 0
Full Bowling Card