Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Kolkata Knight Riders win by 48 runs

Kolkata vs Hyderabad

IPL: Jaques Kallis shines with bat and ball in Kolkata victory over Hyderabad Sunrisers

Jacques Kallis: Proved his worth with both bat and ball

Eoin Morgan: Added a useful 47 at the end of the Kolkata innings

A virtuoso all-round display from Jaques Kallis inspired Kolkata Knight Riders to a 48-run victory over Hyderabad Sunrisers in the Indian Premier League on Sunday.

The South Africa star cracked 41 off 27 balls to help the Knight Riders post 180-4 batting first and then prevented the Sunrisers from topping the IPL table with competition-best figures of 3-13 in the reply.

England's Eoin Morgan also played a leading role, combining well with Kallis out in the middle to score 47 from only 21 balls.

Morgan's cameo added late impetus to a Knight Riders innings which had been set-up perfectly through captain Gautam Gambhir's half-century.

Gambhir shared a 59-run opening partnership with Manvinder Bisla inside eight overs and kicked on to reach his half-century in the 12th over off 39 balls.

Kallis kept the scoreboard ticking along after Gambhir was bowled by Ashish Reddy and Morgan found the rope five times and cleared it on three occasions to put the hosts in a commanding position at the halfway stage.

The Sunrisers knew a successful run-chase would put them on top of the IPL standings and they made a strong start through openers Parthiv Patel (27) and Cameron White (34).

But Kallis (3-13) continued his influential afternoon with the wickets of both openers in his first spell, shifting the momentum of the match in Kolkata's favour in the process.

Thisara Perera top-scored for Hyderabad with an entertaining 36, a rare highlight on an otherwise forgettable afternoon for the visitors.

Match Details

14th Apr 2013
Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bat.
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
M Erasmus and V A Kulkarni

hyderabad BATTING CARD

Batsman R
Patel b Kallis 27
White c Pathan b Kallis 34
Sangakkara c Tiwary b Bhatia 2
D.R. Teja c Tiwary b Narine 10
Perera b Kallis 36
A.A. Reddy b S.M.S.M. Senanayake 4
Sharma not out 5
Vihari c Tiwary b Bhatia 1
Mishra not out 1
Extras 5w, 1b, 6lb 12
Total 20.0 Overs 132 - 7
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Balaji 4 0 30 0
S.M.S.M. Senanayake 4 0 18 1
Narine 4 0 31 1
Kallis 4 0 13 3
Bhatia 4 0 33 2
Full Bowling Card