Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Mumbai Indians win by 5 wickets

Kolkata vs Mumbai

The Mumbai Indians beat the Knight Riders with just one delivery to spare

Dwayne Smith: Made a crucial 62 for Mumbai.

Opener Dwayne Smith led the way with 62 as Mumbai Indians secured a dramatic five-wicket win over Kolkata Knight Riders in their IPL clash at Eden Gardens.

Mumbai's Harbhajan Singh went for 26 when he bowled the first over of the match but the spinner redeemed himself with a crucial six in the final over as the Indians got home with a ball to spare.

Kolkata chose to bat first and Yusuf Pathan (19) hit the first four balls of the contest for three fours and then a six.

Harbhajan then bowled a no-ball which went for a single and Gautam Gambhir (26) smashed another six off the subsequent free hit.

However, Mumbai then removed Pathan in the second over when he edged Mitchell Johnson to Harbhajan at slip and the likes of Johnson (2-26), Lasith Malinga (2-25) and Pragyan Ojha (2-21) slowed the Kolkata charge.

Malinga impresses

Jacques Kallis (37), Manoj Tiwary (33) and Eoin Morgan (31) all played well without quite breaking free and an excellent last over from Malinga, in which two wickets fell for three runs, restricted the hosts to 159-6.

Birthday boy Sachin Tendulkar (2) and Dinesh Karthik (7) failed to fire for Mumbai but Smith was blazing away at the other end, hitting five sixes in his 45-ball knock.

He fell to the very impressive Sunil Narine (3-17) in the 11th over but Rohit Sharma (34) and Kieron Pollard (33) kept up the momentum as Sachithra Senanayake went for 50 in his four overs.

Narine removed Sharma with his last ball of the night and Pollard holed out off the first ball of the final over, bowled by Rajat Bhatia, with 10 still needed.

But, two balls later, Harbhajan clubbed the first delivery he faced over mid-wicket for six, leaving just three required for victory, and Ambati Rayudu got the winning runs two balls later.

Match Details

24th Apr 2013
Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bat.
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
H D P K Dharmasena and S Ravi


Batsman R
Smith c sub Narine 62
Tendulkar b Narine 2
Karthik lbw b S.M.S.M. Senanayake 7
Sharma c&b Narine 34
Pollard c Tiwary b Bhatia 33
Rayudu not out 13
Singh not out 7
Extras 4lb 4
Total 19.5 Overs 162 - 5
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Balaji 4 0 24 0
Abdulla 4 0 35 0
Narine 4 0 17 3
S.M.S.M. Senanayake 4 0 50 1
Bhatia 3.5 0 32 1
Full Bowling Card