Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Kolkata Knight Riders win by 5 wickets

Kolkata vs Bangalore

Indian Premier League: Kolkata Knight Riders topple Bangalore Royal Challengers

Jacques Kallis: Played a key role with both bat and ball for the Knight Riders

Sunil Narine: Chris Gayle was one of the spinner's four wickets

Jacques Kallis impressed with both bat and ball to help the Kolkata Knight Riders record a five-wicket win over Royal Challengers Bangalore in Ranchi.

South African Kallis hit 41 in his side's successful run chase, which was completed with four balls to spare, having earlier claimed 2-17 to help restrict the Royal Challengers to 115-9.

Chris Gayle too-scored for Bangalore with 33 in what was an uncharacteristically slow innings; the opener faced 36 deliveries for his runs before falling to fellow West Indian Sunil Narine.

The spinner also claimed two wickets in the space of three deliveries in the closing stages to finish with figures of 4-22, while Lakshmipathy Balaji removed AB de Villiers for 28 as Bangalore's powerful top order failed to fire.

The Knight Riders suffered a blow at the start of their reply when Manvinder Bisla departed for a second-ball duck, but Kallis proved a steady hand in partnerships of 31 and 30 respectively with Gautam Gambhir (14) and Yusuf Pathan (18).

Manoj Tiwary weighed in with 24 and although both he and Kallis fell in quick succession, Kolkata always seemed on course to win the match.

They duly completed the job in the final over when Ryan ten Doeschate hit Vinay Kumar for four, clinching just his side's sixth victory in this season's Indian Premier League.

Match Details

12th May 2013
Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bowl.
HEC International Cricket Stadium Complex
N J Nigel, K Krishnaraj
TV Umpire
V Vinayak
Match Referee
R S Ranjan
Reserve Umpire
P K Piyush


Batsman R
M.S. Bisla c Henriques b Rampaul 0
G. Gambhir c Gayle b Kumar 14
J.H. Kallis c Henriques b Mithun 41
Y.K. Pathan lbw Kartik 18
M.K. Tiwary c Kohli b Kumar 24
R.N. ten Doeschate Not out 11
R. Bhatia Not out 3
Extras 4w, 1lb 5
Total 19.2 Overs 116 - 5
Full Batting Card

bangalore BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
R. Rampaul 4 1 17 1
A. Mithun 4 0 37 1
J.D. Unadkat 4 0 27 0
R.V. Kumar 3.2 0 17 2
M. Kartik 4 0 17 1
Full Bowling Card