Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Sunrisers Hyderabad win by 30 runs

Kings XI vs Hyderabad

Indian Premier League: Sunrisers Hyderabad defeat Kings XI Punjab

Parthiv Patel: Scored 61 runs in Sunrisers' total of 150

No dummy: Darren Sammy claimed figures of 4-22

Sunrisers Hyderabad boosted their hopes of making the Indian Premier League play-offs by securing a 30-run win over Kings XI Punjab.

Parthiv Patel hit 61 as the visitors made 150-7 after losing the toss and being put in to bat in Mohali, before Darren Sammy took four wickets as Kings XI's chase fell well short.

Patel compiled his total off 47 balls as the opener stood firm from the top of the innings until the end of the penultimate over.

He found support hard to come by as Sandeep Sharma (3-21) triggered a middle-order collapse, including two wickets in as many balls at the end of the eighth over.

But Karan Sharma (22) and Thisara Perera (32 not out) stepped up to keep the scoreboard ticking over as the Sunrisers set what proved to be a winning total.

The hosts' chase got off to a nightmare start as Mandeep Singh departed for a duck in the first over, but a 44-run second-wicket stand between Aussie duo Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh kept their hopes alive.

Both were removed by Sammy, who also took the scalp of David Miller (6), while the efforts of Luke Pomersbach (33 not out) and Rajagopal Sathis (25) were not enough to avoid defeat.

Match Details

11th May 2013
Kings XI Punjab won the toss and elected to bowl.
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium
S Subrat, R J Rodney
TV Umpire
C Chettithody
Match Referee
A J Andrew
Reserve Umpire
N N Nitin


Batsman R
A.C. Gilchrist b Sammy 26
M. Singh c White b Steyn 0
S.E. Marsh c Perera b Sammy 18
L.A. Pomersbach Not out 33
D.A. Miller c White b Sammy 6
R. Sathish run out (Perera) 25
P.P. Chawla c Dhawan b Perera 0
P.S. Singh b Steyn 1
H.S. Bansal run out (Sharma) 3
P. Awana c Sharma b Sammy 0
S. Sharma Not out 0
Extras 2w, 5b, 1lb 8
Total 20.0 Overs 120 - 9
Full Batting Card

hyderabad BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
D.W. Steyn 4 0 20 2
I. Sharma 3 0 22 0
N.L.T.C. Perera 4 0 19 1
G.H. Vihari 2 0 5 0
D.J.G. Sammy 4 0 22 4
I. Sharma 3 0 22 0
A. Mishra 2 0 20 0
Full Bowling Card