Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Kings XI Punjab win by 50 runs

Kings XI vs Mumbai

IPL: Mumbai Indians' five-match winning streak ended by Kings XI

Azhar Mahmood: Pakistan all-rounder was in vintage form for Kings XI Punjab

Lasith Malinga: Mumbai Indians seamer claimed 3-39

Kings XI Punjab finished their Indian Premier League campaign with a 50-run win over Mumbai Indians in Dharamsala, their third victory in five days.

Azhar Mahmood hit 80 off 44 balls as the Kings XI piled up 183-8 after being asked to bat.

Mahmood, whose innings contained eight fours and four sixes, received commendable support from Shaun Marsh, who contributed 63 to a third-wicket stand of 148 after they came together at 6-2 in the third over.

Sri Lankan paceman Lasith Malinga was the most successful member of the Indians' attack with 3-39.

In reply, Mumbai were bowled out for 133 in 19.1 overs with Ambati Rayudu's 26 the top score.

The home bowlers shared the wickets around with two each for Mahmood (2-24), Sandeep Sharma (2-39) and Piyush Chawla (2-20).

Kings XI captain Adam Gilchrist, in his final game for the franchise before retiring, removed his wicketkeeping pads to bowl the final over and needed only one delivery to finish the game by having Harbhajan Singh caught in the deep.

The result means the Kings XI finish in sixth place in the table, while the Indians - who had won their previous five matches - missed the chance to overhaul Chennai Super Kings for top spot due to an inferior net run-rate.

The Super Kings and Indians will meet at Delhi's Feroz Shah Kotla in the opening play-off match on May 21.

Match Details

18th May 2013
Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bowl.
Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium
H D P K Handunnettige, C K C
TV Umpire
Match Referee
R S Roshan
Reserve Umpire
N N Narendra


Batsman R
G.J. Maxwell c Vohra b Singh 0
A.P. Tare b Sharma 22
A.T. Rayudu c Gilchrist b Awana 26
D.K. Karthik c&b Chawla 0
K.A. Pollard c Miller b Sharma 22
R. Dhawan lbw Sagar 14
H. Singh c Singh b Gilchrist 5
N.M. Coulter-Nile b Sagar 9
Extras 1nb, 2w, 6lb 9
Total All Out, 19.1 Overs 133
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
P.S. Singh 3 0 15 1
Mahmood 4 0 24 2
S. Sharma 4 0 39 2
P. Awana 4 0 29 1
P.P. Chawla 4 0 20 2
A.C. Gilchrist 0.1 0 0 1
Full Bowling Card