Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Bangladesh win by 71 runs

Ireland vs Bangladesh

Sunny side up as Irish crash

Spinner takes five wickets as Bangladesh romp to victory

Elias Sunny: Impressive figures of 5-13 for Bangladesh

Spinner Elias Sunny took 5-13 as Bangladesh crushed Ireland by 71 runs in the first Twenty20 international at Belfast.

Chasing 191 for victory, Ireland stumbled to 119-8 from their 20 overs as they could not handle the left arm spin of the relatively unknown 26-year-old.

With the bat Shakib Al Hasan (57) and Ziaur Rahman (40 not out) - whose late innings surge included five sixes - were the main protagonists for the visitors at Stormont as they began their tour of Ireland and Holland in some style.

After losing the toss and being put in by Ireland, it was slow going early on for the visitors as Tamim Iqbal and opening partner Mohammed Ashraful struggled to find the boundary.

With the score on 34 without loss in the fourth over, Ashraful decided to up the tempo smashing a slower ball from first change bowler Max Sorensen through point for four.


However, the South African-born bowler got his revenge the next delivery as the former skipper's attempted drive rattled into the stumps via an inside edge.

New man in Shakib hit four boundaries in five balls to inject some life into the innings at the end of the seventh over and into the eighth.

Two more fours off Boyd Rankin two overs later pushed Bangladesh to 93-1 at the end of the 11th, but the Tigers lost Iqbal next over for a run a ball 31.

Shakib kept the scoreboard ticking along, but his entertaining knock came to an end with the first ball of the 13th over as, waltzing down the wicket to Stirling, the ball turned and clattered into the stumps.

But the Tigers hit back with some force as they hit four sixes in four balls and Stirling was twice smacked into the stands by number six Rahman while Mahmudullah repeated the trick with the first two deliveries of the next over off the bowling of Sorensen.

The 26-year-old, however, gained revenge with the last ball of the over as the all-rounder was caught by Stirling to leave the visitors 154-5.

Rahman hit maximums off Trent Johnson in the 17th and Sorensen in the 18th to move to 30 from just 13 balls, while a six off the penultimate delivery off Alex Cusack helped propel his side to a useful-looking 190-5.


Porterfield kept those in the crowd ducking for cover, hitting over the rope twice in the first two overs, adding two more fours for good measure.

His bright and breezy knock was soon to end as coming down the wicket to Abdur Razzak he missed the ball and was stumped by Rahim for 26 from 16 balls.

Danger man Stirling - who had an impressive Twenty20 campaign for Middlesex - was then run out thanks to a direct hit from mid-off, with the 21-year-old out by a yard.

Niall O'Brian and Ed Joyce departed in consecutive balls in the eighth over off spinner Sunny, the latter going first, pulling to Ashraful, before the former was stumped by Rahim.

It signalled a collapse for the hosts as Kevin O'Brien was bowled by Razzak for a duck before Mooney was bowled by Sunny.

Ireland were 64-7 when Cusack was bowled to become Sunny's fourth victim and Johnson lasted just five balls as Razzak caught the former skipper to give Sunny his fifth victim.

Gary Wilson's impressive unbeaten knock of 41 from 36 balls meant the Irish avoided a humiliating scoreline, however the hosts will be hopeful of a better performance when the two face off again at the same venue on Friday.

Match Details

18th Jul 2012
Ireland won the toss and elected to bowl.
Civil Service Cricket Club, Stormont, Be
M Hawthorne and R P Smith


Batsman R
Porterfield st Rahim b Razzak 26
Stirling run out 4
Joyce c Ashraful b M.E. Sunny 11
O'Brien st Rahim b M.E. Sunny 8
O'Brien b Razzak 0
Wilson not out 41
Mooney b M.E. Sunny 1
Cusack b M.E. Sunny 1
Johnston c Razzak b M.E. Sunny 7
M.C. Sorensen not out 12
Extras 6w, 2lb 8
Total 20.0 Overs 119 - 8
Full Batting Card

bangladesh BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
Mortaza 4 0 36 0
M.A. Hasan 3 0 27 0
Al Hasan 4 0 26 0
Razzak 4 0 9 2
Mahmudullah 1 0 6 0
M.E. Sunny 4 1 13 5
Full Bowling Card