Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
India win by 1 wicket

India vs Sri Lanka

Tri-Nations series: Skipper MS Dhoni sees India home against Sri Lanka

MS Dhoni: India skipper saw his side home

India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni smashed 16 runs off the last over as India beat Sri Lanka by one wicket in a nail-biting Tri-Nations series final.

Set 202 to win, Rohit Sharma hit 58 as India looked to be coasting to victory in Port of Spain.

But Dhoni's side slumped from 139-3 to 152-7 - with Chatura Herath taking four of the wickets - and Lasith Malinga then captured the wicket of Bhuvneshwar Kumar to leave India on 167-8, still 36 runs short of their target.

Namesake Vinay Kumar came to the crease and added 15 with Dhoni before being caught by substitute Sachithra Senanayake off skipper Angelo Mathews, with India still requiring 20 runs off the last 23 balls.

Last-man Ishant Sharma survived two potential run outs before scoring two runs to leave Dhoni needing 15 off the last over.

Shaminda Eranga was given the task to bowl and had a dot ball before Dhoni smashed a massive six to leave India requiring nine off four balls.

He next sliced a boundary past point and then smashed another six to see his side home by one wicket and two balls to spare - and take his personal tally to 45 runs off 52 balls.

Earlier, Kumar Sangakkara top-scored with 71 as Sri Lanka collapsed to 201 all out in 48.5 overs.

Sangakkara shared a 122-run partnership with Lahiru Thirimanne to guide their side to an imposing 171-2.

But when Thirimanne was out for 46 and Sangakkara just three runs later, it sparked a collapse which saw eight wickets fall for just 30 runs in 12 overs.

Ravindra Jadeja did the damage for India, taking 4-23 off 7.5 overs, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ishant Sharma waded in with two wickets apiece.

Match Details

11th Jul 2013
India won the toss and elected to bowl.
Queen's Park Oval
N J Nigel, P J Peter
TV Umpire
J S Joel
Match Referee
D C David
Reserve Umpire
N Nigel


Batsman R
S. Dhawan c Sangakkara b Eranga 16
V. Kohli c Sangakkara b Eranga 2
D.K. Karthik c Jayawardene b Herath 23
S.K. Raina c Sangakkara b Lakmal 32
M.S. Dhoni Not out 45
R.A. Jadeja lbw Herath 5
R. Ashwin lbw Herath 0
B. Kumar lbw Malinga 0
R.V. Kumar c sub b Mathews 5
Extras 11w, 2b, 2lb 15
Total 49.4 Overs 203 - 9
Full Batting Card

sri lanka BOWLING CARD

Bowler O M R W
R.M.S. Eranga 9.4 2 50 2
R.A.S. Lakmal 10 1 33 1
A.D. Mathews 10 1 38 1
S.L. Malinga 10 1 58 1
H.M.R.K.B. Herath 10 2 20 4
Full Bowling Card