Tell us what you think of the new cricket section at

Don't show again

Day 1 of 1
Pakistan win by 5 wickets

India vs Pakistan

Pakistan win their first ever Twenty20 International on Indian soil in dramatic fashion

Shoaib Malik: hit Ravindra Jadeja for six to win the match for Pakistan in the final over

Gautam Gambhir: top-scored for India with 43 before the hosts suffered a batting collapse

Half-centuries from Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik steered Pakistan to a tense five-wicket win in the first Twenty20 International against India in Bangalore.

The tourists looked in serious trouble at 12-3 in pursuit of a target of 134, debutant Bhuvneshwar Kumar (3-9) doing all the early damage in the first bilateral series between the two neighbouring countries in five years.

However, skipper Hafeez and all-rounder Malik got Pakistan's chase back on target, the pair putting on a fourth-wicket stand of 106 that looked to have them cruising to victory.

In the end they had to work harder than they might have expected, though, with Hafeez's departure for 61 - having hit two sixes and six fours - leading to a late wobble.

Kamran Akmal came and went cheaply but Malik (57 not out) held his nerve in the final over. He duly dispatched the left-arm spin of Ravindra Jadeja down the ground for a six, seeing Pakistan over the line with two balls to spare.

India had looked well set to post a more challenging target after being put into bat when they reached 77 without loss in the 11th over, Ajinkya Rahane leading the way with a breezy 42.

But his departure, to the leg spin of Shahid Afridi, sparked a collapse. Opening partner Gautam Gambhir fell shortly after for 43, and only two other Indian batsmen managed to reach double figures.

Having at one stage been well-placed on 90-1, the hosts lost eight wickets for 34 in the face of some tight bowling. Saeed Ajmal took 2-25 from his four overs, the spinner claiming the key scalps of Mahendra Singh Dhoni (one) and Suresh Raina, who was bowled for 10.

Umar Gul then finished the innings in style for Pakistan, dismissing Jadeja and Ishant Sharma in successive deliveries to finish with figures of 3-21, an impressive effort considering his first over had gone for 13 runs.

The T20I series concludes in Ahmedabad on December 28. The two nations then play three one-dayers, starting in Chennai on December 30.

Match Details

25th Dec 2012
Pakistan won the toss and elected to bowl.
M.Chinnaswamy Stadium
C Shamsuddin and S Ravi


Batsman R
Jamshed b Kumar 2
Shehzad c Dhoni b Kumar 5
Hafeez c Kumar b Sharma 61
Akmal b Kumar 0
Malik not out 57
Akmal c Dinda 1
Afridi not out 3
Extras 1nb, 3w, 1lb 5
Total 19.4 Overs 134 - 5
Full Batting Card


Bowler O M R W
Kumar 4 0 9 3
Dinda 4 0 26 1
Sharma 4 0 23 1
Kohli 2 0 21 0
Singh 3 0 25 0
Jadeja 2.4 0 29 0
Full Bowling Card